Citizen Reporter
2 minute read
15 May 2017
11:41 am

Argentinian three-year-old supplemented into the Durban July

Citizen Reporter

Deo Juvente tops early Durban July log.

IN THE LEAD. Deo Juvente, who won the Premier’s Champions Challenge, is the VDJ log leader.

Michael Azzie-trained dual Grade 1 winner, Hat Pun­tano (ARG), is an interesting supple­mentary entry for the 2017 Voda­com Durban July bringing to 47 the number of horses still in con­tention for the big race on 1 July 2017.

The first VDJ Log has been is­sued by Gold Circle and serves as a clear indication as to who would be in the field if the race was run tomorrow.

“We have not considered Hat Puntano at this stage as he has yet to win beyond 1600m and has not been seen in action since July 2016,” said Gold Circle Racing Ex­ecutive Raf Sheik.

“Hopefully he will make his South African debut in the near future,” he added.

The top six spots on the VDJ Log are occupied by horses who have won automatic qualifying races this season.

Marinaresco and Captain America, at 7 and 8, lead the way among the balance but there is a long way to go yet and those on the outside looking in still have plenty of opportunities to qualify.

Second declarations close at 11am on Monday, 29 May and final supplementary entries close at 11am on Monday, 12 June.

The weights will be published on Tuesday, 13 June and final declarations close on Monday, 19 June. The announcement of the final field and barrier draws will take place on Tuesday, 20 June.

The public gallops will take place at Greyville Racecourse on Thursday, 22 June, starting at 7am.

The current Vodacom Durban July Log


1 DEO JUVENTE 115 Geoff Woodruff

2 AL SAHEM 106 Sean Tarry

3 HEAVENLY BLUE 106 Mike de Kock

4 MASTER SABINA 110 Geoff Woodruff

5 ORCHID ISLAND 99 Mike de Kock

6 EDICT OF NANTES 102 Brett Crawford

7 MARINARESCO 115 Candice Bass-Robinson

8 CAPTAIN AMERICA 116 Brett Crawford

9 BELA-BELA 109 Justin Snaith

10 FRENCH NAVY 112 Sean Tarry

11 THE CONGLOMERATE 107 Joey Ramsden

12 BRAZUCA 108 Johan Janse van Vuuren


13 KRAMBAMBULI 107 Justin Snaith

14 SARATOGA DANCER 107 Duncan Howells

15 PAGODA 101 Geoff Woodruff

16 ELUSIVE SILVA 99 Justin Snaith

17 NIGHTINGALE 105 Candice Bass-Robinson

18 IT’S MY TURN 106 Justin Snaith

19 ZODIAC RULER 99 Justin Snaith

20 MASTER SWITCH 101 Geoff Woodruff

The next 5 in alphabetical order:

GIRL ON THE RUN 98 Johan Janse van Vuuren

LIEGE 102 Sean Tarry

PRINCE OF WALES 100 Justin Snaith

SAFE HARBOUR 101 Sean Tarry

SILVER MOUNTAIN 102 Candice Bass-Robinson