Nick Gordon
1 minute read
25 Oct 2013
6:00 am

SA jockeys want revenge

Nick Gordon

It's no secret that South Africa produces some of the best horsemen and women who are capable of holding their own on the world stage.

FROM THE HORSE'S MOUTH: South African champion jockey Piere Strydom poses for a photograph at the media launch for the Avis International Jockeys Challenge yesterday. The challenge will be taking place at Turffontein, Kenilworth and Clairwood on November 15 –17. Strydom will captain the South African team of Anton Marcus, Sean Cormack, Robbie Fradd, Anthony Delpech and S'Manga Khumalo. The international team will be captained by Richard Hughes, with Jamie Spencer, Johnny Murtagh, Tom Queally, Hu

It’s been shown time and again by the jockeys who travel to some of the world’s biggest race meetings and now it’s time for the local boys to once again challenge a contingent of internationals in the Avis International Jockeys Challenge.

“As the captain of the South African team I can say that we are all honoured to represent our country And obviously we want to do well,” Piere Strydom, the reigning champion jockey, said at yesterday’s launch.

Strydom will captain a team that comprises Anton Marcus, S’Manga Khumalo, Anthony Delpech, Robbie Fradd and Sean Cormack when the first leg of the series kicks off on November 15 at Turffontein.

The event will then head to Kenilworth in Cape Town on the 16th and Clairwood in Durban on the 17th. At last year’s renewal, it was the international team who secured victory and another quality group has been assembled.

The visitors will be skippered by Richard Hughes. He will be accompanied by Jamie Spencer, Johnny Murtagh, Tom Queally of Ireland, Hugh Bowman of Australia and Gregory Benoist of France.

“The visiting jocks had the last laugh last year, but hopefully this year I can, as captain, chat to my fellow jockeys. We don’t want to be beaten again,” said Strydom.

The challenge comprises four races on each day, with mounts being drawn and a points system deciding the winning team.