TUT dethrone UJ to lift third Varsity Football crown

TUT player Tshiamo Mahome has been crowned the man of the match.

The Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) has dethroned the University of Johannesburg (UJ) to lift their third Varsity Football title.

It was a highly-anticipated final between the two best sides of the 2022 Varsity Football tournament.

The game, which promised fireworks, lived up to its expectations.

The first 25 minutes of the match were an evenly contested affair, with TUT creating some half chances following set pieces.

UJ had a decent attempt after 27 minutes in the game, but Philane Masondo’s shot went wide off the target.

TUT eventually opened the scoring in the 32nd minute, when Kutloano Manamela found the back of the net with a stunning volley.

However, their lead lasted just one minute as Thanda Madiba found the equaliser from a tight angle after being set up by Thulani Zandamela.

UJ almost scored their second goal in injury-time of the first half, but Tebogo Lekaba cleared the ball off the line.
TUT then went close in the first minute after half-time but a cross by Hendrick Xaba was blocked by Neo Lebopa.
Madiba had a decent chance with a free-kick in 59 minutes but his attempt flew over the bar.

TUT eventually found the winner seven minutes before the final whistle, which came via an own goal by Maselesele Makoti after fine work down the right flank from Tumelo Hope Moeng.

UJ tried to find another equaliser, but it was not to be. The game concluded with UJ 1-2 TUT, leading to wild celebrations of the Red Army.

Coach Bushy Moloi was seen dancing on the sidelines as his troops lifted their third title after 2016 and 2018.

The Varsity Football team would also look to express their best wishes to injured TUT defender Siphosethu Mkhize, who had to be stretchered off the pitch in the game’s dying minutes.

Match facts

TUT player Tshiamo Mahome was the man of the match.

The UJ starting line-up included Lona Richard Banga, Maselesele Makoti, Neo Lebopa, Siphiwe Manana, Thanda Madiba, Sanele Ndlalane, Ndabezinhle Nkosi, Advocate Mokwena, Thulani Zandamela, Gerald Ndlovu and Philane Masondo.

TUT starting line-up included Sikhumbuzo Ncube, Sanele Nene, Tebogo Lekaba, Kutloano Manamela, Siphosethu Mkhize, Alan Majo, Andile Yamile, Hendrick Xaba, Tshiamo Mahome, Tumelo Hope Moeng and Tshepiso Mnisi.

Related Articles

Back to top button