Historic racing produce several surprises at Zwartkops

Peter Bailey celebrated Heritage Day with a win straight off the bat.

Both heats of the Ben Morgenrood Group Historic Racing Series races delivered entertaining racing, several surprise winners and a new champion at Saturday’s Heritage Day Historic Tour races at Zwartkops.

Peter Bailey was back to his best with a double Braai Day win in his Porsche in the Ben Morgenrood Historic Sprint races, while it was a case of veni vidi vici (I came, I saw, I conquered) as Stan Stacey won the Historic Pursuit day in his Cortina after sharing the wins with Mercedes man Machiel Oberholzer, while Werner Hartzenberg and his Porsche wrapped up the ’22 Pursuit title.

v Niekerk.

Class B man Bailey and his purple Bailey Cars Porsche RSR was untroubled as he sped to race 1 victory in the opening Ben Morgenrood Historic Sprint race, opening up almost four seconds over André van der Merwe’s similar Evapco SA machine over the distance. The big dice of the day was behind them for Class C honours. Jannie van Rooyen eventually made a last lap move to overcome Pro Auto Rubber Northern Bolt VW Scirocco teammate Stuart Konig to take the win.

Evelthon Rotsides and his splendid Datsun 240Z upset the Class D applecart when he beat Rene Jansen van Rensburg’s SvTech Ford Escort Mk. 2 by just over two seconds. Championship contenders, Andre ten Napel TNMC Medical Devices VW Scirocco, Gavin Lundin’s Silverguard Datsun 1200 GX and Fred Konig Northen Bolt & Tool Scirocco followed, ahead of Sophos Pantazis and his Datsun 240Z.

Stuart Koning.

David Leyshon was another upset as he returned with his U-Pack Scirocco to remain unlapped and topple Sean Hepburn and his Automobile Association Datsun 1200 Deluxe and Riaan Roux Scirocco after Stefan Puschavez Porsche 911 RS hit trouble in race 1. Derick Smalberger’s Shield Ford Escort, Cor Kraamwinkel’s BMW 2002 and Alan Poulter’s Volvo continued the disruption in the Class F top three.

Class G stalwarts, Stewart McLarty’s Jack Daniels Ford Escort XR3 and John Simpson Evoke Realty Alfa Romeo Giulia GT Junior however maintained the Class G status quo, separated by just two-tenths of a second at the flag. Tihan van Rooyen chased them home in his Van Rooyen Vision Porsche 924 after Harm Beens Jr’s H3 Generator Works Ford Escort MK2 found trouble.


It was much the same in race 2 as Peter Bailey opened up a slightly bigger lead to win overall from Class B rival Andr van der Merwe. Stuart Konig was untroubled in Class C after Jannie van Rooyen retired. Evelthon Rotsides and Rene Jansen van Rensburg diced initially before Rotsides opened the gap to make it a Class D double with André ten Napel and Fred Konig third and fourth after Gavin Lundin stopped.

David Leyshon did the Class E double over Sean Hepburn and Riaan Roux, while Cor Kraamwinkel reversed the Class F order over Alan Poulter and Derick Smalberger and John Simpson took Class G from Tihan van Rooyen after Stewart McLarty stopped.

Moving on the handicap Ben Morgenrood Group Historic Pursuit Series races, Fines class driver Oberholzer put in a perfect run to take his Aquaperm Mercedes-Benz 190E to the opening race win from Rob van Aarle’s Ace Auto Ford Escort MK1 and Modified winner Tegan Leyshon’s U-Pack Scirocco. Wynand du Plessis Sr was fourth in his DBM Porsche 944 S2 from Stan Stacey’s Ford Cortina and champion elect Hartzenberg’s Aircooled Wonders Porsche 916.


VW Scirocco duo Riaan Roux and Jannie Gerber followed from Willem van Niekerk’s Marauder Mk.3 and Hattingh putting the finishers in a Mercedes-Benz 190E sandwich. Althea Pretorius’ Carinvest Nissan Exa, Mike O’Sullivan’s Youngtimer Honda Ballade, JMS Nissan duo Johan Smith’s Skyline and Tiaan Smith’s Youngtimer Sentra, and José Vasques’ Mercedes 280 were unclassified after they broke out of their handicap time. Greg White’s Escort, Gerrit Murray’s Alfa GTV and Robbie Frank’s Elemental Analytics Lotus 23B failed to finish.

Stacey continued the Ben Morgenrood Historic Racing trend of interference to take the second race win from Hartzenberg, Willem van Niekerk and Du Plessis Sr, Hattingh was fourth from Jannie Gerber, Oberholzer and Riaan Roux. Tegan Leyshon, Rob van Aarle and Gerrit Murray broke out and Johan Smith retired.

So, modified man Stacey took the day from Fines trio and new champion Hartzenberg, Du Plessis Sr and Oberholzer, with Van Niekerk fifth overall and second in Modifieds. Fines man Rob van Aarle was next from Modified pair Jannie Gerber and Tegan Leyshon and Mike O’Sullivan was credited the Youngtimer win.

It should be fireworks when the Ben Morgenrood Group Historic Racing Series’ 2022 season wraps up at the Red Star Raceway finale in Delmas on Guy Fawkes Day, November 5.

Source: MotorsportMedia

Related Articles

Back to top button