Penultimate Gauteng Rotax Max races for 2022

Jamie Smith won the premier DD2 class.

Rotax Max Karting hosted its penultimate Gauteng championship races at the Formula K Raceway in Benoni this past Saturday, October 23.

In the DD2 class, race 1 winner Wayland Wyman failed to make the second heat start. Smith also shared the second places out with second and third for the day, Eugene Brittz and Nicolas Spanoyannis, from Kian Grottis, Marcel De Beer and Preshlen Reddy.

By nature of the scoring, seventh-placed Llewellyn Sutherland took the DD2 Masters from Reddy. Philippe Chapat did his regular domination of DD2 Vets from Ryan Schaper in each race. Frikkie Cornelius, Rob Nicholson, Derek Joseph, and Grant Veenstra shared out the rest of those top six places.

Reagile Mailula.

KZN visitor Troy Snyman was back to his old Senior Max tricks as he took all three race wins. Karabo Malemela and Ethan Bostander shared out the seconds from Olerato Sekudu, Moosa Kajee and Kian Spies. New Junior Max winners Erich Heystek and Sa’aad Variawa shared the U15 wins from Jayden Goosen, Jean-Hendrik de Villiers, Brandon Van Der Walt and Ndzalo Khoza.

In Primary School action, Reagile Spice Mailula was another driver back to winning ways in U13 Mini Max. He beat Kegan Martin and surprise third heat winner Amani Kin. Durelle Goodman, Aadam Kajee and Torben Roos followed. Emma Dowling continued her great U11 Mini Max progress with a trio of wins over a great dice between Logan Billau, Taylin Patel, Rafael De Sousa, brother Brodi Dowling and Cristian Verheul.

Last but not least, Noah Cronje took second place and a couple of wins to take the Baby Bambino honours for the day from, Ronaldo Koen, Adriaan Steyn, race 1 winner Diego Antunes, Luhan De Wet and Benjamin Gibhard.

Troy Snyman

Both the Rotax Max Gauteng and Western Cape karting championships wrap up at Zwartkops and Killarney, respectively on Saturday, November 5. That’s a week before the South African team sets off for the ‘Olympics of Karting’, the Rotax Max Grand Finals in Portugal.

Source: MotorsportMedia
Photos: Motorsport Fanatix

Check Also
Back to top button