Motorcycle Racing Correspondent
3 minute read
4 Oct 2018
7:27 am

Triumph engines good to go

Motorcycle Racing Correspondent

FIM announces that 83 riders will line up across MotoGP’s three classes next year.

With the Moto2 field all to use a 765cc Triumph four-stroke engine next year, the unit has been officially handed over to FIM (Federation Internationale de Motocyclisme).

Last weekend’s handover marked the end of a full engine development by Triumph, Dorna, Externpro and Magneti Marelli.

The Triumph-powered machines will be seen in action on track for the first time during a Moto2 test at Jerez de la Frontera from November 23 to 25. Steve Sargent, Triumph’s chief product officer said: “We are grateful to the team at Dorna for this opportunity for Triumph to return to the top flight of motorcycle racing. “This is just the beginning as we will continue to support the engine programme and feed the key learnings into our motorcycle development programmes,” he added.

Dorna chief executive Carmelo Ezpeleta is just as excited with Triumph’s return. “We are proud to welcome Triumph to the MotoGP World Championship,” he said.

“It is a pleasure for us to race with such an iconic name as Moto2 engine supplier, writing an important chapter into both our histories.”

The FIM have accepted the entries of a number of teams that will contest next year’s MotoGP season. After considering the various applicants’ history, equipment and sustainability, the governing body accepted the accreditation of the following teams. Moto3:

  • Angel Neito – two riders; Bester Capital Dubai – two riders; CIP Green Power – two riders; Del Conca Gresini – two riders; Estrelle Galica – two riders; Honda Asia – two riders; Leopard – two riders; Marinalli Snipers – two riders; Petronas Sprinta – two riders; Pruestl GP2 Skull – two riders; Reale Avintia Aademy – two riders; 1sic58 Squadra Corsa – two riders; VR46 – two riders; Sudmetall Schedl – one rider;
  • Total entries – 29 riders Moto2 v Angel Nieto – two riders; Dynavolt Intact – two riders; Marc VDS – two riders; Federal Oil Gresini – one rider; Forward Racing – two riders; Idemitsu Honda Asia – two riders; IItaltrans – two riders; Kiefer – one rider; NTS RW GP – two riders; Petronas Sprinta – two riders: Pons HP40 – two riders; Red Bull KTM AJO – two riders; SAG – two riders; SKY VR46- two riders: Speed Up – two riders; Swiss Innovative Investors – two riders; TASCA Scuderia – one rider; Tech 3 – two riders;.
  • Total entries – 32 MotoGP v Alma Pramac – two riders; Aprilia Gresini – two riders; Ducati – two riders; LCR Honda – two riders; Tech 3 KTM – two riders; Yamaha Factory – two riders; Petronas Sprinta Yamaha – two riders; Reale Avintia – two riders; Red Bull KTM Factory – two riders; Repsol Honda Factory – two riders; Suzuki Ecstar – two riders.

Total entries – 22 riders. Teams have the right to announce details of their teams including sponsors, riders and machines.

The final entry lists will be published by the FIM during the Valencia GP, due to the fact that the 2019 season officially starts the day after.

The MotoE brigade has announced that five races will make up the inaugural season.

The events will be held at Jerez on May 5, Le Mans on May 19, Sachsenring on July 7, Austria on August 11 and Misano on September 15. Depending on circuit length, the races will be from seven to 10 laps.

The MotoE machines will weigh 260kg, while producing 120kW of power and 200Nm of torque. They should reach a top speed of 270km/h.

For more news your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.