Andre De Kock
Motorsport Editor
3 minute read
24 Apr 2019
8:29 pm

Phakisa is the place to be

Andre De Kock

The modified production Car races should see top contenders like Keagan Pottas, Dewald Brummer, Bjorn Gebert, Giles Darroch, Ralph Kernes and Wayne Lebotschy.

TIGHT. The INEX Legend cars should produce fast, close racing at Phakisa as they slip-stream down the long back straight.

Inland regional championship motorsport will return to the Free State’s Phakisa Raceway this Saturday, with 11 four-wheeler categories to face the starter.

Heading up the day’s offerings will be round three of the 2019 Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series, with the one-make title chase to field 28 entries in four classes. Fighting for overall victories should be drivers like Paulo Loueiro (BMW F30 335), Rick Loureiro (Combined BMW F30 336i), Darren Winterboer (Barons BMW E92 M3), Bruce Turner (Promigen BMW E46 M3), Stefano Martinelli (BMW E36 328i Turbo) and David Coetzee (Elksa BMW E36 328i Turbo).

Class B drivers who could win overall should include Andreas Meier (BMW E46 M3) Jan Eversteyn (Bavaria BMW E46 M3),Oz Biagioni (BMW E46 M3) and Mike Grobler (BMW E39 M5).

The four Historic Car classes will race together, with the quickest contenders expected to be the Pre-1990 Sports and GT cars.

Frontrunners should include Ricard Schuhardt (RS Porsche RSR), Peter Bailey (Porsche RSR) and Stefan Snyders (Spear Porsche 911). Colin Ellison (Ford Thunderbolt) must be the victory favourite in the category for Pre-1980 Saloon Cars, chased by the likes of Mike O’Sullivan (East Coast Chevy SS), Mario Rossi (FAS Alfa GTV6), Jannie van Rooyen (VW Scirocco), Frank Davis (Rayspeed Ford Escort) and Johan Barnard (Ford Capri). Jonathan du Toit (Daytona Coupe), Chad ten Doeschate (Shelby Cobra) and Mark du Toit (Daytrona Coupe) should head up the Pre-1966 sports cars.

Reigning champion Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Birkin) must be the man to beat in the Sabat Lotus Challenge races, challenged by Thomas Falkiner (Adaptive Resource Taylon), Clive Wilmot (Birkin), Byron Oliver (Mega Pile Birkin), Mackie Adlem (Adlem Auto Birkin), David Jermy (Taylon) and Sean Hewitt (Birkin).

Single-seater enthusiasts can look forward to combined Monoposto and FF Kent races, with top contenders expected to be Damien Archer (Advanced Wound Care Gti Ray), John Maurien (Gti Ray), (Org Geldenhuys (Abacus Speads), Koos Posthumus (Formula M), Jeff Gable (Van Diemen), Allen Meyer (Van Diemen), Dean Venter (TEU Swift) and David Jermy (Beauty Factory Van Diemen).

Top INEX Legends contenders must include Willie Erasmus (Legend), Charl Roux (Rubro Legend), Ian Upton (RU Legend), Jason Loosemore (Security Fencing Legend), Richard van Heerde (Browndeck Legend) and Andre Larson ( Enviro Air Legend).

The sports car races will boast 17 entries, led by drivers like Fritz Kleynhans (Comenius Ligier), Howard Blake (Nash MVW3), Mike Chitty (Caterham SV), Ian Smith (Shelby CanAm), Andre du Plessis (Leet Birkin Nissan), and Paul Sullivan (Bishops Auto Nash NVW3).

The modified production car races should see top contenders like Keagan Pottas (AIPM Honda Turbo), Dewald Brummer MAD VW Polo), Bjorn Gebert (DAS Alfa GTV6), Giles Darroch (NEPIC Golf Mk1), Ralph Kernes (Big Boss Auto Renault Clio) and Wayne Lebotschy (Shield Golf Gti).

The pursuit handicap races will see close racing over the closing laps, with victory favourites to include Bert van Aarle (Lotus Elite), Kola de Klerk (Nissan 300Z), Rob Clark (Containerforce Citroen), Clive Winterstein (Casheri Porsche 356A) and Werner Hartzenberg (Porsche 928).

For more news your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.