Andre De Kock
Motorsport Editor
3 minute read
14 Apr 2021
7:00 am

Zwartkops bracing itself for Extreme Festival return

Andre De Kock

The six classes will again be split over two races each

Michael van Rooyen (Gazoo Toyota Corolla) and Robert Wolk (Chemical Logistics Toyota Corolla) could fight for victories in Saturday's Global Touring Car races at Zwartkops. Picture: Reynard Gelderblom.


The National Extreme Festival travelling circus will perform at the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria this Saturday, with five categories, on four wheels and two, taking to the circuit.

Top billing will belong to the Global Touring Car category, racing alongside the Supa Cup brigade, bringing 14 cars to the party.


Bradley Liebenberg (Sparco SupaPolo) should be the man to beat in the Supa Cup category. Picture: Reynard Gelderblom.

Judging by the year’s opening race meeting last month, the four top Zwartkops contenders should be title leader Robert Wolk (Chemical Logistics Toyota Corolla), Michael van Rooyen (Gazoo Toyota Corolla), Julian van der Watt (Europerformance Ford Focus) and Scott Temple (Chemical Logistics Toyota Corolla). Rounding out the class will be Lee Thompson (Universal Health BMW 2 Series) and Mandla Mdkane (Gazoo Toyota Corolla).

Bradley Liebenberg (Sparco Volkswagen SupaPolo) must be the man to beat in the Supa Cup category, facing off against people like Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Supa Polo), Jonathan Mogotsi (Volkswagen Motorsport Supa Polo), Andre’Bezuidenhout (Perfect Circle Supa Polo) and Jason Campos (Turn One Supa Polo).


Capetonian Jurie Swart (Alpine Autohaus Polo), currently leads the Volkswagen Polo Cup title chase. Picture: Reynard Gelderblom

Capetonian Jurie Swart (Alpine Autohaus Polo), will lead the Volkswagen Polo Cup title chase, challenged by drivers like Keegan Campos (Campos Transport Polo), Dawie van der Merwe (Universal Health Polo), Leyton Fourie (Universal Health Polo), Dean Venter (Chamber 77 Polo), Jayden Els (King Price Polo) and Arnold Neveling (Stradale Polo).

Single seater enthusiasts will be treated to a pair of Investchem F1600 races, with leading drivers to be Andrew Rackstraw (Mygale SJ), Jarrod Waberski (DAW Mygale), Nicholas van Weely (Magnificent Paints Van Diemen), Brendan Tracey (Investchem Mygale) and Andrew Schofield (Safair Mygale).


Graeme van Breda (Stefanutti Stocks ZX10) and Dave Enticot (Sarum Engineering ZX10) could fight for victories in the SunBet Kawasaki ZX10 Masters Races. Picture: Reynard Gelderblom.

Defending champion Graeme van Breda (Stefanutti Stocks ZX10) will head up the SunBet Kawasaki ZX10 Masters Cup races, chased by riders like David Enticot (Sarum Engineering ZX10), Appanna Ganapathy (Art ZX10), Teddy Brooke (Brooke Refrigeration ZX10) and Ian Harwood (Kawasaki ZX10).

Rounding out the day will be two races for Marlboro Crane hire Pre-1966 Littkle Giants cars, with 18 drivers set to face the starter. The Under Two-Litre class should see people like Marc Miller (Designer Dent Alfa Romeo Giulia), Carel Pienaar (SP Lotus Cortina), Riaan Lubbe (Alfa Romeo GT Junior), Mark du Toit (TAR Alfa Romeo GT Junior), Jonathan du Toit (TAR BMW 2002), Roger Houston (CTR Alfa Romeo Giulia) and Francesco Lombardi (Alfa Romeo Giulia Super) at the front end.


The races for Marlboro Crane Hire Pre-1966 Little Giant cars should see some strange contenders, like the Nash Metropolitan of Chad ten Doeschate. Picture: Paul Blackburn.

Top runners in the other classes must include Brian Rowlings (Ford Anglia), Ishmael Baloyi (TAR GSM Dart Alfa), John ten Doeschate (Ford Protea), Clive Winterstein (Casheri Porsche 365) and Chad ten Doeschate (Nash Metropolitan.

No spectators will be allowed but the races will be live-streamed.