Andre De Kock
Motorsport Editor
2 minute read
28 Jan 2015
11:05 am

Spyders the spin of the day

Andre De Kock

Saturday's main event at Zwartkops is the Castrol Pre-1966 Le Mans Sports and GT race.

Picture: Zwartkops raceway Facebook

The 45-minute event boasts 33 entries – nine of which are from overseas – representing a wide range of exotic sports racers from that era.

Topping the entry list will be the Lola T70 Spyder entries of Mark/Jonathan du Toit and Rui Campos, the Ford GT40 models of Ross Lazarus, Oliver Dalais and Craig Shorter, plus the similar Ford of Swedish drivers Kenneth Petersen and Lennart Bohlin.

Michiel Campagne of the Netherlands will drive his Chev Corvette, while the Daytona Coupes will be in the hands of Sarel van der Merwe/Michael Briggs and Peter Lindenberg/Djurk Venter.

Also in with a podium chance are Chevron B8 of Briton David Smithies, the Lola Mk111 of Mark Lauth, the AC Cobra of Leeroy Poulter/Keith Hinckley and the Ford Cobra of Warren Lombaard.

Fighting for positions further down the field will be the GSM Flamingo of Jefffrey Kruger, the Renault Mpiti of Dennis McBeath, the Morgan 4/4 of Chris Clarke, the Lotus 26R of Josh Dovey, the Jaguar E-Type of Chris O’Neill, the Ford TVR Vixen of Tim Boles and the GSM Darts of Clive Rice, Marius Roberts, Chad ten Doeschate and Ishmael Baloyi.

v In the Castrol Pre-1974 Sports Racing Prototype races, Colin Clay (Lola T70 Mk111) is the man to beat. He will be challenged by Neil Lobb (Lyle CanAm), Colin Frost (Porsche 917), Colin Ellison (Chevron B19), Jonathan du Toit (Chevron B8), Rui Campos (Porsche 917), Shayne Frost (Ford GT40) and Franco Scribante (Chevron B19).

Overseas participants include Sweden’s Tommy Brorsson (Lotus Elan), Kenneth Persson (Ford GT40), Jan Kling (Ford GT40), and Lars Bondesson (Chevron B19), plus Netherland’s Dirk Waaijenberg (Chevron B19), and Elso Bergma (Porsche RSR).

The races for Historic Single Seaters from the 50s and 60s will feature British drivers Richard Smeeton (1963 Wainer), Chris Wilson (1960 Cooper Maserati), Alan Baillie (Brabham BT21) and Dog Mockett (1961 Cooper Climax).

The day’s largest entry is in the races for Marlboro Crane Hire Pre-1977 Historic Saloons, with the list of 74 cars divided into two.

Included are a Ford Escort Zakspeed, Ford Capri variants, Chev Camaros, Ford Sierra XR8s, BMW 2002s, Fiat Abarths, Mercedes-Benz models, Alfa GTAs, Mini Cooper S models, VW Sciroccos, Ford Anglias, Ford Escorts and Chev CanAms.

A total of 35 Sabat Lotus Challenge contenders will tackle their two races, while the Alfa Trofeo and Marque Cars will open and close the day’s programme.