Motoring / Motorsport

Andre De Kock
Motorsport Editor
2 minute read
25 Oct 2021
1:47 pm

Spectators welcomed back with frantic Extreme Festival action

Andre De Kock

First national motorsport event in 18 months saw a packed house at Zwartkops.

Michael van Rooyen (Gazoo Racing Toyota Corolla) won Saturday's second Global Touring Car race. Picture: Dave Ledbitter.

Joyful déjà vu was the name of the game at the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria this past Saturday, when the venue hosted the penultimate round of this year’s national Extreme Festival.

For the first time in 18 months, motorsport starved spectators were allowed at a South African circuit racing event. The large number that turned up were certainly not disappointed with the day’s Adrenaline Game offerings.

Heading up proceedings were two races for Global Touring Cars. Championship points leader Robert Wolk (Chemical Logistics Toyota Corolla) won the first heat. He finished narrowly ahead of veteran Lee Thompson (Universal BMW 2 Series), Scott Temple (Chemical Logistics Corolla) and Julian van der Watt (Autozone Ford Focus).

Zwartkops Extreme Festival
Jurie Swart (Alpine Autohaus Polo) won both of the day’s Volkswagen Polo Cup races. Picture: Dave Ledbitter.

Race two, started from an inverted grid, was won by Michael van Rooyen (Gazoo Racing Toyota Corolla), followed over the finish line by Wolk, Temple and Thompson.

After a race-long dice, the first SupaCup race went to Bradley Liebenberg (Sparco SupaPolo), leading home Jonathan Mogotsi (Volkswagen Motorsport SupaPolo), Keegan Campos (Campos Transport  SupaPolo) and Jeffrey Kruger (Universal SupaPolo).

Jason Campos (Campos Transport SupaPolo) won the second race, ahead of Kruger, Keegan Campos and Saood Variawa (SVR SupaPolo).  

ALSO READ: Zwartkops re-opens for spectators ahead of Extreme Festival

Already crowned 2021 South African champion Greame van Breda (Stefanutti Stocks ZX10) won both the SunBet ZX10 Masters Cup races from Trevor Westman (Wayward ZX10) and Sanjiv Singh (SAS Consult ZX10).

Another 2021 title holder, Andrew Rackstraw (RDSA Mygale) took both the Investchem F1600 races from Josh le Roux (ILCA Mygale) and Jarrod Waberski (DAW Mygale).

Jurie Swart (Alpine Autohaus Polo) led throughout the first Volkswagen Polo Cup race followed by Clinton Bezuidenhout (Universal Polo) and Leyton Fourie (Universal Polo). In race two Swart was chased over the finish line by South Africa’s top lady racer Tasmin Pepper (Puma Polo) and Fourie.

Zwartkops Extreme Festival
Bradley Liebenberg (Sparco SupaPolo) and Jonathan Mogotsi (Volkswagen Motorsport SupaPolo) fought mightily in Saturday’s opening SupaCup race. Picture: Dave Ledbitter.

Franco di Matteo (Deltech Batteries Jaguar XK8) won the first Mobil 1 V8 Supercar race, followed over the finish line by Thomas Reib (Mobil 1 Chevrolet Lumina) and Andre’ de Lange (Roofsure Jaguar XK8). Ben Morgenrood (Morgenrood Auto Ford Mustang) took race two from Terry Wilford (Fuchs Ford Falcon) and Mackie Adlem(Adlem Auto Jaguar XK8).

Adrian Dalton (Xtra Clothing BMW M3) led the first BMW race throughout but was penalized 20 seconds for passing under a yellow flag. That gave the victory to William Einkamerer (BTAS BMW 325i) ahead of Andreas Meier (Trained Amateurs BMW M3) and Jagger Robertson (Viking BMW M3). Dalton won the next time out, followed by Einkamerer and Meier.

The next round of the 2021 Extreme Festival will be a regional event at the Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday, 13 November.