Wesley Botton
Chief sports writer
1 minute read
1 Dec 2014
9:00 pm

Chad Le Clos scoops international accolade

Wesley Botton

Chad le Clos was named 2014 Fina Male Swimmer of the Year on Monday night, becoming the first South African to receive the award.

FILE PICTURE: Chad le Clos. Gallo Images

The 22-year-old from Durban secured seven medals at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow this season, and became the first man to win the overall Fina World Cup short-course series three times.

On the four previous occasions the Male Swimmer of the Year accolade had been awarded, since it was first handed out in 2010, Ryan Lochte scooped it three times and fellow American Michael Phelps secured the trophy once.

Le Clos, who was also named Sportsman of the Year at the SA Sports Awards on Sunday, will spearhead the national team at the Short-Course World Championships in Doha starting on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, national swimming coach Graham Hill, who lost out to Bafana Bafana mentor Shakes Mashaba for the Coach of the Year at the SA Sports Awards, received a special achievement accolade from the global aquatics body.