Wesley Botton
Chief sports writer
2 minute read
21 Jul 2015
12:55 pm

SA swimming team named for Kazan

Wesley Botton

A small national swimming team will turn out in the pool at the World Aquatics Championships starting in Kazan, Russia this weekend.

South Africa's Chad le Clos. AFP

Swimming South Africa (SSA) announced a five-member squad on Tuesday, revealing a significant cut from the 17-member team that competed at the 2013 showpiece in Barcelona.

The South African contingent would be spearheaded by defending 100m and 200m champion Chad le Clos and fellow Olympic gold medallist Cameron van der Burgh, who earned gold and silver in the 50m and 100m breaststroke finals at the previous global spectacle.

Van der Burgh would compete in both his specialist distances, the federation confirmed, and Le Clos was geared up for three events, including the 50m fly.

They would be joined by another breaststroke speedster, Ayrton Sweeney, rising middle-distance star Myles Brown and the versatile Sebastien Rousseau.

While the indoor swimmers were limited in numbers, however, a 44-member squad was named to represent the country across five codes.

The squad also included a six-member open water swimming team led by former 5km bronze medallist Chad Ho, men’s and women’s water polo sides, and synchro and diving representatives.

“Our team has had a good build up in Europe and now it is time for rest and final preparation,” SSA high performance manager Dean Price said in a statement.

“We look forward to seeing the performances in Kazan and believe it will be a fast competition and our swimmers are ready to perform.”

SA team:

Swimming – Cameron van der Burgh (50m, 100m breaststroke), Chad Le Clos (50m, 100m, 200m butterfly), Ayrton Sweeney (50m, 100m breaststroke), Myles Brown (200m, 400m freestyle), Sebastien Rousseau (200m butterfly, 400m individual medley)

Open water: Men: – Chad Ho (5km, 10km), Daniel Marais (5km, 10km), Nicolaos Manoussakis (25km)
Women – Michelle Webber (5km/10km), Clarice le Roux (5km), Carmen le Roux (10km)

Water Polo: Men – Dawyne Flatscher, Julian Lewis, Devon Card, Ignardus Badenhosrt, Pierre le Roux, Etienne Le Roux, Nicolas Molyneux, Jon Marc De Carvalho, Dayne Jagga, Jared Wingate Pearce, Nicholas Hock, Dean Whyte, Wesley Bohata
Women – Rebecca Thomas, Samantha Shead, Kelsey White, Tarryn Schooling, Megan Schooling, Lee-Anne Keet, Marcelle Manson, Megan Parkes, Ruby Versfeld, Delaine Christian, Alex Gascoigne, Kieren Paley

Synchro – Kerry-Beth Norden, Emma Manners Wood, Laura Strugnell, Courtney Musson

Diving – Nicole Gillis, Julia Vincent, Jaimee Gundry, Micaela Bouter