Wesley Botton
Chief sports writer
1 minute read
1 Dec 2014
6:30 am

And the Sports Star of the Year award goes to…

Wesley Botton

Banyana Banyana striker Portia Modise was named Sports Star of the Year at the SA Sport Awards in Sandton on Sunday night.

Modise received the most public votes of the six nominees, who also included Proteas ODI captain AB de Villiers, Springbok loose forward Duane Vermeulen, wheelchair racer and paracyclist Ernst van Dyk, and track and field athletes Khotso Mokoena and Cornel Fredericks, becoming the first woman to scoop the accolade.

Meanwhile, swimmer Chad le Clos, who bagged seven medals at this year’s Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, was named Sportsman of the Year, and Commonwealth road cycling bronze medallist Ashleigh Moolman Pasio received the Sportswoman of the Year gong.

Van Dyk was named Sportsman of the Year with a Disability, and fellow hand-cyclist Justine Asher was selected as Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability.

The SA junior cricket squad, who won the Under-19 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates, were named Team of the Year, while recently appointed Bafana Bafana mentor Shakes Mashaba received the Coach of the Year accolade.

Triathlon South Africa was named Federation of the Year, and 400m hurdler Gezelle Magerman, the only SA medallist at this year’s Youth Olympics in Nanjing, received the Newcomer of the Year award.