Wesley Botton
Chief sports writer
1 minute read
3 Sep 2015
11:00 am

Commonwealth Games: A challenge ‘we can do’

Wesley Botton

Government admits the 2022 Commonwealth Games could offer South Africa its most challenging test thus far as an international sports destination, though it remains confident Durban is up to the task.

Picture: sportingindustry.co.za

The coastal city became the first in Africa to be awarded the quadrennial showpiece yesterday, after the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) general assembly approved the lone bid at a congress in Auckland in New Zealand.

“This will be great for our country,” Sport and Recreation director-general Alec Moemi told SuperSport after the announcement.

“Your ability as a host has never really been tested until you have held a multisport event of this magnitude.” Durban hosted matches during the 1995 Rugby World Cup, 2003 Cricket World Cup and 2010 Soccer World Cup – but no South African city has hosted a major multisport spectacle since Johannesburg held the 1999 All Africa Games.

“We’ve been tested over and over again and we have proven our ability to deliver world-class events,” Moemi said. Edmonton, Canada, the only other bid city, withdrew from the race for the 22nd edition of the Games due to financial concerns.

The CGF followed due process, sending a delegation to evaluate Durban’s potential as hosts – and its general assembly stamped its approval.

“We identified 10 key issues and are pleased to announce these are already being addressed,” said Louise Martin, the newly appointed CGF president. The bid committee planned to host the most “compact” Games, relying largely on existing infrastructure centred around Moses Mabhida Stadium.

At least 16 “core” codes would be contested, the CGF said, with the option of additional sports being included, such as T20 cricket and beach volleyball.

The two-week event will be held between July 18 to 31, 2022.

Commonwealth Games:

Host cities since 1990

  • 1990: Auckland, New Zealand
  • 1994: Victoria, Canada
  • 1998: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • 2002: Manchester, UK
  • 2006: Melbourne, Australia
  • 2010: Delhi, India
  • 2014: Glasgow, Scotland