Wesley Botton
Chief sports writer
1 minute read
6 Sep 2016
1:05 pm

Moolman-Pasio to spearhead SA cycling team

Wesley Botton

Olympian Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio will lead a 15-member national team at the Road World Championships in Doha next month, Cycling South Africa (CSA) confirmed on Tuesday.

Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio. Picture: Gallo Images

Moolman-Pasio, who was 10th in the road race at the recent Rio Games, would spearhead a group of six SA women in the elite division, while Reinardt Janse van Rensburg would lead a trio of men in the absence of Olympic riders Louis Meintjes, who was seventh in Rio, and Daryl Impey.

“This is the first year that we have sent such a large women’s team to world champs,” said CSA road cycling commission director Bosseau Boshoff. “To have the two junior ladies in the team as well (Nicolene Marais and Lynette Benson) will provide such great experience for them, and help us even more to grow and develop women’s cycling in the country.”

SA team Elite men: Reinardt Janse van Rensburg, Jaco Venter, Clint Hendriks U-23 men: Stefan de Bod Elite women: Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, Heidi Dalton, Anriette Schoeman, Samantha Sanders, Lisa Olivier, Zanele Tshoko Junior men: Devon Short, Damean Oosthuizen, Jason Oosthuizen Junior women: Nicolene Marais, Lynette Benson