Wesley Botton
Chief sports writer
1 minute read
2 Dec 2016
8:00 pm

Wayde loses out to Bolt at IAAF Awards

Wesley Botton

Usain Bolt was crowned Male Athlete of the Year in Monaco on Friday.

Wayde van Niekerk, South Africa's Olympic gold hero, hopes to become the first local athlete to win the IAAF's most prestigious award in 13 years. Photo: Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

Tonight, the world’s finest athletes were recognised for their achievements in what was a remarkable Olympic year.

From a South African point of view, there was much to be excited about, as star 400m world record holder Wayde van Niekerk stood to be recognised for his incredible run at the Olympics in Rio, when he smashed through all expectations and the records to become the first man to nearly run the 400m in 43 seconds flat.

To take the Athlete of the Year prize, however, he needed to trump the remarkable achievements of track and field’s golden boy, Usain Bolt, the greatest sprinter who has ever lived. Bolt won the treble for the third time running at the Olympics, becoming the first man in history to do so.

The Citizen’s Wesley Botton is in Monaco to report live from the awards. Ultimately, Bolt deservedly won the prize. Have a look at who else was a winner.