Wesley Botton
Chief sports writer
1 minute read
12 Aug 2015
4:43 pm

Trio added to SA Athletics team

Wesley Botton

The SA team received a minor boost on Wednesday, with three fringe middle-distance athletes added to the squad for the World Athletics Championships in Beijing.

File photo. Picture: AFP.

While Dumisane Hlaselo (1 500m), Dikotsi Lekopa and Tumi Monnatlala (3 000m steeplechase) did not achieve the qualifying criteria in their events, they were thrown a lifeline by receiving late invites from the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) in order to fill entry targets.

Lekopa’s season’s best of 8:32.17, set at the national championships in Stellenbosch in April, and 20-year-old Monnatlala’s best of 8:33.02, achieved in the same race, missed the IAAF standard of 8:28.00 by more than four seconds.

Hlaselo’s best this year of 3:36.36, which he clocked in Nancy in July, was 0.16 outside the required time.

“Athletics SA would like to extend its appreciation to the IAAF for providing our athletes with the opportunity to participate with the world’s best athletes and for covering all the cost of the additional athletes,” the national federation said in a statement.

South Africa will be represented by 34 athletes at the biennial showpiece, which starts on August 22.

SA team for the IAAF World Championships (August 22-30):

Men: Henricho Bruintjies (100m), Akani Simbine (100m/200m), Anaso Jobodwana (100m/200m), Wayde van Niekerk (400m), Berend Koekemoer (400m), Rynardt van Rensburg (800m), Johan Cronje (1 500m), Dumisane Hlaselo (1 500m), Stephen Mokoka (10 000m), Antonio Alkana (110m hurdles), LJ van Zyl (400m hurdles), Cornel Fredericks (400m hurdles), Dikotsi Lekopa (3 000m steeplechase), Tumisang Monnatlala (3 000m steeplechase), Zarck Visser (long jump), Ruswahl Samaai (long jump), Khotso Mokoena (long jump/triple jump), Orazio Cremona (shot put), Jaco Engelbrecht (shot put), Victor Hogan (discus throw), Rocco van Rooyen (javelin throw), Willem Coertzen (decathlon), Lebogang Shange (20km walk), Marc Mundell (50km walk), Benedict Moeng (marathon), Desmond Mokgobu (marathon), Lucas Jani (marathon), Sibusiso Nzima (marathon)
Women: Carina Horn (100m), Justine Palframan (200m/400m), Caster Semenya (800m), Wenda Nel (400m hurdles), Sunette Viljoen (javelin throw), Tanith Maxwell (marathon)