Wesley Botton
Chief sports writer
2 minute read
18 Aug 2015
5:37 pm

World-class field set for Cape Town Marathon

Wesley Botton

Next month's Sanlam Cape Town Marathon will boast the strongest field ever put together for a 42km race in South Africa.

Picture: Thinkstock

Organisers announced a world-class men’s line-up on Tuesday for the second edition of the relaunched event, to be held on September 20.

Nine athletes in the elite entry list have run under 2:10:00 in their careers, with four of them having dipped under 2:08:00.

David Kiyeng of Kenya, who finished third at the 2009 Paris Marathon in 2:06:26, will be the quickest man in the line-up, while compatriot Willy Kibor, who won last year in 2:10:45, returns to defend his title. The foreign contingent will face a handful of promising local marathon runners including Gladwin Mzazi and Xolisa Tyali.

“The elite field plays a key role in our attempt to gain IAAF Gold Label status, as we need to ensure there are at least five Gold Label athletes from five different countries,” said race ambassador Elana Meyer.

“This will not only help us reach our goal but also ensure we provide a platform for world-class times on the African continent.

“In addition, it gives local runners a rare chance to race against some of the best long-distance athletes in the world on home soil.”

Meyer confirmed the route for the race, which was awarded Silver Label Status last year, had been adjusted to allow for faster times after they had experienced a few hiccups last season.

“The route is flatter and faster, so I won’t be surprised if there are some very fast times,” she said.

The international women’s line-up, due to face a relatively strong local contingent including marathon debutant Lebo Phalula, Nolene Conrad and former SA champions Zintle Xiniwe and Cornelia Joubert, would be revealed closer to the race.

The Cape Town Marathon, marketed as a weekend festival of road running in the Mother City, will also include a 10km race and two trail runs.

Elite men’s field, Cape Town Marathon (September 20, 2015):

∙ David Kemboi Kiyeng, Kenya – 2:06:26 PB
∙ Abraham Girma Bekele, Ethiopia – 2:06:48 PB
∙ Peter Lotogor Kamais, Kenya – 2:07:37 PB
∙ Dereje Debele Tulu, Ethiopia – 2:07:48 PB
∙ Yuki Kawauchi, Japan – 2:08:14 PB
∙ Willy Kibor Koitile, Kenya – 2:08:32 PB (defending champion)
∙ Haile Haja Gemeda, Ethiopia – 2:08:35 PB
∙ Nicholas Kipngeno Kemboi, Qatar – 2:08:51 PB
∙ Andualem Belay Shiferaw, Ethiopia – 2:09:59 PB
∙ Xolisa Tyali, South Africa – 2:16:03 PB
∙ Gladwin Mzazi, South Africa – 2:17:43 PB
∙ Africa Mailola, South Africa – 2:17:58 PB