Mike Moon
Horse racing correspondent
2 minute read
5 Oct 2021
4:32 pm

Got The Greenlight still tops Summer Cup log

Mike Moon

The premier horse race will be run on Saturday 27 November.

Got the Greenlight still at the top of Summer Cup log. Picture: iStock

The order of runners at the top of the Gauteng Summer Cup log remains unchanged, but there have been a few changes to some of the other hopefuls after last weekend’s racing.

Johannesburg’s premier horse race, a Grade 1 event over 2000m on the Turffontein Standside track, will be run on Saturday 27 November.

Got The Greenlight remains at the top of the log despite only managing third place in Sunday’s Grade 2 Joburg Spring Challenge over 1450m at Turffontein.

After his second place behind MK’s Pride in the Spring Challenge, Bingwa has moved from 13th to 10th place on the top-20 log, while both Expressfromtheus and Tierra Del Fuego, both unplaced in the race, have dropped four places each, into 13th and 17th respectively.

There have also been some adjustments to the alphabetical list.

The maximum field size is 20.

Second entries close at 11am on Monday 1 November and final entries at 11am on Monday 15 November – after which the weights will be posted. – Phumelela


Log PositionAgeSexHorseMRNMRTrainerMR Adjust
24CMALMOOS125124Mike de Kock 
34FWAR OF ATHENA122121Paul Matchett 
44GSECOND BASE122121J A Janse van Vuuren 
54FNETTA120119Paul Peter 
64GPAMUSHANA’S PRIDE116115Alec Laird 
85GSHANGO114114Sean Tarry 
94GPUERTO MANZANO (AR113112J A Janse van Vuuren 
104GBINGWA111110Dorrie Sham 
116MRUNNING BRAVE115115Fanie Bronkhorst 
124GELIUD112111Candice Dawson 
135GEXPRESSFROMTHEUS118118Stuart Pettigrew-4
144FSPARKLING WATER109108Mike de Kock 
154GHOEDSPRUIT108107Justin Snaith 
164GTHE GATEKEEPER108107Justin Snaith 
176GTIERRA DEL FUEGO110110Sean Tarry-4
184CFLYING CARPET109108Sean Tarry 
195GTREE TUMBO108108Sean Tarry 
205GJOHNNY HERO106106Tyrone Zackey 
   Alphabetical Order    
 5GCORNISH POMODORO107107Sean Tarry 
 7GDIVINE ODYSSEY108108J A Janse van Vuuren 
 5GMATTERHORN102102Alyson Wright1
 5GNEBRAAS103103Sean Tarry 
 5MVICTORIA PAIGE104104Sean Tarry 
   MR Order    
 6GCHIJMES108108J A Janse van Vuuren-2
 5MSEEHAAM107107Sean Tarry 
 7GGOLDEN PHEASANT107107B Botes / Y Vosloo 
 4GNATIVE TONGUE106105Justin Snaith 
 5GSAVANNAH STORM106106Phillip Vermeulen 
 4FSENTBYDESTINY105104Candice Dawson-2
 6GGREEN HAZE105105Paul Peter-1
 7GPACK LEADER105105Alec Laird 
 5GIMPERIAL RUBY104104Corne Spies 
 6GMAJESTIC MOZART104104Candice Bass-Robinson 
 5MBALLET SHOES103103Candice Dawson-2
 4GWILLOW EXPRESS103102Sean Tarry 
 6GDON’T LOOK BACK101101St John Gray 
 4GREUNION9998Paul Peter 
 4GSALVATOR MUNDI9897Justin Snaith 
 4GAL MUTHANA (AUS)9594Mike de Kock 
 5GDONALD MCDONALD9393Gavin van Zyl1
 4CINFINITE WONDER9291M G Azzie/A A Azzie 
 4GORIGAMI9190Duncan Howells 
 7GOUR COYS (AUS)8686Joe Soma