Mike Moon
Horse racing correspondent
1 minute read
28 Nov 2021
3:42 pm

Starting times changed for delayed Summer Cup meeting

Mike Moon

Lightning and swirling storms caused Saturday's meeting to be postponed for three days.

Britain's Queen Elizaberth II has nine horses entered for 11 races at the 35-race Royal Ascot meeting. Picture: Getty Images

Start times for the Summer Cup card’s 10 races have been changed for the postponed meeting at Turffontein on Tuesday.

Joburg’s premier horse race was washed out on Saturday and the entire programme was moved to Tuesday – replacing a scheduled Vaal meeting, which has been scrapped.

The first race will now take place at 11.40am.

Lightning and swirling storms caused the Saturday meeting to be delayed, then called off. The decision was later proved correct by ongoing rain through the afternoon.

The order of races remains unchanged for Tuesday, but new starting times are as follows:

Race 1: 11:40

Race 2: 12:10

Race 3: 12:45

Race 4: 13:20

Race 5: 13:55

Race 6: 14:30

Race 7: 15:05

Race 8: 15:40

Race 9: 16:20

Race 10: 16:55