Rudolph Jacobs
Rugby Journalist
1 minute read
26 Jul 2016
10:42 am

Lions name squad of 27

Rudolph Jacobs

The Lions coaching staff on Tuesday picked a squad of 27 for their Super Rugby semi-final against the Highlanders at Ellis Park on Saturday.

Warren Whiteley of the Emirates Lions tackling Jean-Luc du Preez of the Cell C Sharks. Photo by Steve Haag/Gallo Images

There are no surprises, with the only name worth mentioning that of scrumhalf Dillon Smit who has been included as cover for Ross Cronjé, who will undergo a late fitness test after picking up a leg injury against the Crusaders in the quarter-final last weekend.

Apart from Smit, the names of flank Steph de Wit, lock Lourens Erasmus and fullback Sylvian Mahuza have also been added.

The official team announcement will take place on Thursday.

The group of 27 is:


  1. Dylan Smith
  2. Corne Fourie
  3. Julian Redelinghuys
  4. Jacques van Rooyen
  5. Armand “Akker” vd Merwe
  6. Malcolm Marx
  7. Lourens Erasmus
  8. Franco Mostert
  9. Andries Ferreira
  10. Ruan Ackermann
  11. Warwick Tecklenberg
  12. Warren Whiteley
  13. Jaco Kriel
  14. Cyle Brink
  15. Steph de Witt


  1. Faf de Klerk
  2. Ross Cronje
  3. Dillon Smit
  4. Elton Jantjies
  5. Jaco vd Walt
  6. Courtnall Skosan
  7. Ruan Combrinck
  8. Sylvian Mahuza
  9. Howard Mnisi
  10. Rohan Janse van Rensburg
  11. Lionel Mapoe
  12. Andries Coetzee