Rudolph Jacobs
Rugby Journalist
1 minute read
12 Mar 2014
6:00 am

Seven sides chase one Currie Cup spot spot up for grabs

Rudolph Jacobs

The fixtures for the Absa Currie Cup's new eight-team Premier Division and the qualifying competition were released by the South African Rugby Union (Saru) yesterday.

Oregan Hoskins (President of SARU). Picture: Howard Cleland/Gallo Images.

The start of the eight-team Currie Cup Premier Division – contested by the Sharks, Western Province, EP Kings, Free State Cheetahs, Golden Lions, Blue Bulls, Pumas and the winner of the qualifying competition – is scheduled for the weekend of August 8 and 9, a week after the Super Rugby final. It will run until the final weekend of October, when the final will take place.

The eight teams will be divided into two sections on 2013 log positions: Section X (Western Province, Golden Lions, Blue Bulls and EP Kings) and Section Y (Sharks, Free State, Pumas and the qualifier).

The teams will play home and away within their sections followed by a single cross-conference round before semifinals and the final.

The qualifying competition, which will be contested by Griquas, the Leopards, SWD Eagles, Boland Cavaliers, Griffons, Border Bulldogs and Valke, will kick off on the first weekend of June and run until July 19, when the top team on the log will be granted entry into the Currie Cup Premier Division.

The fixtures for the Currie Cup First Division, which kicks off on the last weekend of August and concludes with the final in the second week of October, will be finalised at the conclusion of the qualifying competition.