3 minute read
7 Feb 2019
11:26 am

Highest accolade yet again for Pieter-Steph


The Stormers and Springbok star once again showed his worth by being named SA's Rugby Player-of-the-Year.

Pieter-Steph du Toit of South Africa makes a break during The Rugby Championship match between the New Zealand All Blacks and the South Africa Springboks at Westpac Stadium on September 15, 2018 in Wellington, New Zealand. (Photo by Phil Walter/Getty Images)

Pieter-Steph du Toit produced a remarkable feat when he was named the SA Rugby Player-of-the-Year for 2018 on Thursday, marking the second time in three years that the athletic Springbok forward scooped the top award in South African rugby.

By walking away with the most prestigious title on offer in South African rugby, Du Toit became only the fifth player since 1992 to claim the crown more than once.

The others are Bryan Habana (2005, 2007 and 2012), Schalk Burger (2004 and 2011), Jean de Villiers (2008 and 2013) and Fourie du Preez (2006 and 2009).

The 26-year-old Du Toit, who has collected 46 caps since his Test debut in 2013, was sublime in the green and gold last year.

His efforts on the field saw him edge out fellow Boks Aphiwe Dyanyti, Franco Mostert, Handré Pollard and last year’s winner, Malcolm Marx, for the top award.

Apart from captaining the Boks in their season-opener against Wales in the USA, Du Toit made a staggering 202 tackles, 128 ball carries and took 28 lineouts in 14 Tests last year.

He and Steven Kitshoff are the only players who featured in every Springbok match of 2018.

“This is a magnificent achievement for Pieter-Steph and very well deserved after a superb season for the Springboks and the Stormers. On behalf of the entire South African rugby fraternity, I would like to congratulate him,” said SA rugby president, Mark Alexander.

“Pieter-Steph was a tireless work-horse for the Springboks in 2018 and apart from the many big hits and strong runs he put in, he also played a key leadership role within the team. He’s only 26 and by all accounts he still has his best years ahead – something I’m sure most Bok supporters will keep a very keen eye on.”

Rassie Erasmus, Director of Rugby, said: “Pieter-Steph was simply superb last year and he thoroughly deserves this award. His contribution to the team, as a tireless work horse who never gives up, but also as one of the leaders in our squad, was invaluable, and I would like to congratulate him on this wonderful achievement.”

The Springbok Sevens team and their coach, Neil Powell, recorded a unique double when they were rewarded for another superb season in which they successfully defended their World Rugby Sevens Series title in dramatic fashion, by winning the awards for Team and Coach of the Year.

Dylan Sage, who made the World Rugby Sevens Series Dream Team for 2017/18, was named Springbok Sevens Player of the Year.

Award winners:

SA Rugby Player of the Year: Pieter-Steph du Toit

Other nominees: Aphiwe Dyanyti, Malcolm Marx, Franco Mostert, Handré Pollard

SA Rugby Young Player of the Year: Sbu Nkosi

Other nominees: Aphelele Fassi, Embrose Papier, RG Snyman, Damian Willemse

Team of the Year: Springbok Sevens

Other nominees: Lions (Super Rugby), Sharks (Currie Cup)

Coach of the Year: Neil Powell

Other nominees: Swys de Bruin, Rassie Erasmus

Springbok Sevens Player of the Year: Dylan Sage

Other nominees: Werner Kok, Ruhan Nel

Junior Springbok Player of the Year: Wandisile Simelane

Other nominees: Salmaan Moerat, Tyrone Green, Damian Willemse

Super Rugby Player of the Tournament: Aphiwe Dyantyi (Lions)

Other nominees: Malcolm Marx, Franco Mostert (both Lions)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Sergeal Petersen (Western Province)

Other nominees: SP Marais (Western Province), Akker van der Merwe (Sharks)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Etienne Taljaard (Valke)

Other nominees: Divan Nel (SWD Eagles), Anrich Richter (Valke)

SuperSport Rugby Challenge Player of the Year: Chris Smith (Pumas)

Other nominees: Enver Brandt (Griquas), Ruwellyn Isbell (Pumas), Stefan Ungerer (Pumas)

Craven Week Player of the Tournament

Evan Roos (Western Province)

Referee of the Year

Jaco Peyper

Women’s Achiever of the Year

Nolusindiso Booi

For more news your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.