Rudolph Jacobs
Rugby Journalist
1 minute read
11 Sep 2014
12:00 am

Province make two changes

Rudolph Jacobs

The WP starting XV shows just two changes from last week's 49-14 demolition of the EP Kings, with Kurt Coleman partnering half-centurion Schreuder in what will be his first start of the 2014 Absa Currie Cup and vice-captain Pat Cilliers returning at tighthead prop.

FILE PICTURE: Kurt Coleman during the DHL Western Province training and press conference from High Performance Centre on August 21, 2013 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images)

With Coleman starting at No 10, Demetri Catrakilis moves down to the bench where he will be joined by Brok Harris, who swaps with Cilliers in the front row, while loose forward Sikhumbuzo Notshe, who is in for the suspended Rynhardt Elstadt, and debutant scrumhalf Godlen Masimla replaces the injured Nic Groom.

SA Sevens star Justin Geduld remains on the bench with Cheslin Kolbe having been passed fit for Saturday’s Ellis Park excursion, while the other noteworthy selection on the Western Province bench is Springbok tourist Scarra Ntubeni who joins the match-day 22 at the expense of Neil Rautenbach.

Ntubeni is back to full fitness after battling with a calf muscle strain and he will add to Western Province coach Allister Coetzee’s options from the bench.

Western Province: Cheslin Kolbe, Kobus van Wyk, Juan de Jongh (capt), Jaco Taute, Pat Howard; Kurt Coleman, Louis Schreuder; Nizaam Carr, Michael Rhodes, Siya Kolisi, Ruan Botha, Jean Kleyn; Pat Cilliers, Stephan Coetzee, Alistair Vermaak. Bench: Scarra Ntubeni, Brok Harris, Manuel Carizza, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Godlen Masimla, Demetri Catrakilis, Justin Geduld.