Sports Reporter
4 minute read
10 Dec 2021
12:02 pm

Bok team-mates in competition to be crowed Player of the Year

Sports Reporter

It will also be tough picking a winner in the Young Player, Team and Coach categories.

Springboks players Eben Etzebeth (left) and Siya Kolisi (right) are among the five men nominated for the 2021 SA Rugby Player of the Year award. Picture: Stu Forster/Getty Images

Five star Springboks – Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi and Makazole Mapimpi – are up against each other for the coveted SA Rugby Player of the Year award for 2021 after earning the most votes in the annual nomination process.

SA Rugby announced the nominees in eight categories on Friday. All the winners will be named in 2022, when two new awards recognising women’s rugby will be announced, the Springbok Women’s and Provincial Women’s Players of the Year, as well as the annual Referee of the Year.

Springbok captain Kolisi, the only player to start in all 13 Tests this year, played a typical captain’s innings while Etzebeth, the most experienced member of the current Springbok squad, was one of the most consistent players this season, often leading the charge of the pack.

Am and De Allende, who have now started together as Bok centre partners in 22 Tests, formed a lethal midfield combination, often opening up space on the outside for Mapimpi to score, with the Bok speedster scoring six tries this year.

After a good year in which they won the Lions Series, beat the All Blacks and won two of their three Tests in November, the Springboks and their head coach, Jacques Nienaber, are also up for awards and will square off against the Blitzboks and Neil Powell, as well as the Currie Cup-winning Bulls and Jake White for the Team and Coach of the Year awards.

The Hendrikse brothers, Jaden and Jordan, are two of the five nominees in the category for Young Player of the Year, where they will face stiff opposition from Aphelele Fassi, and two of the best young loose forwards in the country in Elrigh Louw and Evan Roos.

Jaden Hendrikse (scrumhalf) and Fassi (fullback) earned their first Springbok caps this year (both scoring tries on debut for South Africa), while Jordan Hendrikse was nominated in a second category, the Junior Springbok Player of the Year, along with Jan-Hendrik Wessels and Henco van Wyk.

The Blitzboks – winners of four tournaments in 2021 – finished the year on a very high note and the competition for Springbok Sevens Player of the Year will be tightly contested between one of their bright new stars in Ronald Brown, as well as the experienced duo of Selvyn Davids and Siviwe Soyizwapi, captain of the national sevens side.

An exciting new category was added to the roster this year, namely the Test Try of the Year, where supporters will have the final say in who walks away with this accolade.

Included on the list of nominees – all of which can be viewed here – are tries by De Allende, Mapimpi, Fassi, and Cheslin Kolbe, as well as Springbok Women’s players Zintle Mpupha and Libbie Janse van Rensburg.

An award for the Player of the Vodacom United Rugby Championship will be made at the conclusion of the competition next year.

The nominees are (in alphabetical order):

SA Rugby Player of the Year

Lukhanyo Am

Damian de Allende

Eben Etzebeth

Siya Kolisi

Makazole Mapimpi

SA Rugby Young Player of the Year

Aphelele Fassi

Jaden Hendrikse

Jordan Hendrikse

Elrigh Louw

Evan Roos

Team of the Year



Springbok Sevens

Coach of the Year

Jacques Nienaber (Springboks)

Neil Powell (Springbok Sevens)

Jake White (Vodacom Bulls)

Junior Springbok Player of the Year

Jordan Hendrikse

Henco van Wyk

Jan-Hendrik Wessels

Springbok Sevens Player of the Year

Ronald Brown

Selvyn Davids

Siviwe Soyizwapi

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year

Johan Goosen

Elrigh Louw

Evan Roos

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year

Dylan Maart (Boland Kavaliers)

Anrich Richter (Valke)

Danrich Visagie (Leopards)

Castle Lager Test Try of the Year (chronological order with links to videos)

1. Cobus Reinach – Springboks vs Georgia:

2. Makazole Mapimpi – Springboks vs British & Irish Lions:

3. Cheslin Kolbe – Springboks vs British & Irish Lions:

4. Sizophila Solontsi – Springbok Women vs Kenya:

5. Aphelele Fassi – Springboks vs Argentina:

6. Damian de Allende – Springboks vs New Zealand:

7. Malcolm Marx – Springboks vs Wales:

8. Makazole Mapimpi – Springboks vs Scotland:

9. Zintle Mpupha – Springbok Women v Wales:

10. Libbie Janse van Rensburg – Springbok Women v Wales: