Rudolph Jacobs
Rugby Journalist
1 minute read
20 Jan 2015
4:22 am

Vermeulen leads Stormers against SWD

Rudolph Jacobs

Stormers coach Allister Coetzee named a squad of 28 players on Tuesday for their first preseason clash against SWD in George on Saturday.

New Stormers captain Duane Vermeulen, Allister Coetzee and vice captain Juan de Jongh during the DHL Stormers training session and press conference at Hermanus Primary School on January 16, 2015 in Hermanus, South Africa. (Photo by Carl Fourie/Gallo Images)

Eighth man Duane Vermeulen will captain the side, while Coetzee has named 13 players on an enlarged bench who will all get a run as it’s not regarded as an official game.

The Stormers will also play the Cheetahs next weekend in Cape Town before their final preseason game on February 7 in the annual challenge against Boland while they face the Bulls in their Super Rugby opener at Loftus on February 14.

Bok lock Eben Etzebeth has been given a rest, while flank Schalk Burger (Japan), Nizaam Carr and Siya Kolisi (sickness and injury) have not been considered, and prop Frans Malherbe will at best, only be considered for the Cheetahs clash next weekend.

Jurie van Vuuren is the only lock named on the bench, but both the starting flanks – Michael Rhodes and Rynhardt Elstadt – are equally at home in the No 4 and 5 second row positions.

In midfield, the trusted combination of the two Springboks, Damian de Allende and vice-captain Juan de Jongh, is reunited and is widely seen as Coetzee’s first-choice midfield combination.

* The Stormers will arrive in George on Friday. The entire playing squad will meet fans and sign autographs after Saturday’s match at Outeniqua Park which kicks off at 4.30pm.

Stormers: Cheslin Kolbe, EW Viljoen, Juan de Jongh, Damian de Allende, Dillyn Leyds, Kurt Coleman, Nic Groom, Duane Vermeulen (capt), Michael Rhodes, Rynhardt Elstadt, Manuel Carizza, Gerbrandt Grobler, Vincent Koch, Siyabonga Ntubeni, Steven Kitshoff.

Bench – from: Bongi Mbonambi, Oliver Kebble, Wilco Louw, Jurie van Vuuren, Neil Rautenbach, Michael Willemse, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Louis Schreuder, Demetri Catrakilis, Huw Jones, Jaco Taute, Godlen Masimla, Robert du Preez.