Rudolph Jacobs
Rugby Journalist
1 minute read
27 Jan 2015
7:37 pm

Stormers lose two Bok midfielders

Rudolph Jacobs

The Stormers suffered two big setbacks ahead of their Super Rugby warm-up clash against the Cheetahs at Newlands on Friday night.

FILE PICTURE: Cheslin Kolbe of Stormers is tackled by JJ Engelbrecht of the Blue Bulls. (Photo by Shaun Roy/Gallo Images)

Both Springbok midfielders Damian de Allende and Jaco Taute were forced out of the game in the team coach Allister Coetzee announced on Tuesday at the Bellville High Performance Centre.

Twelve replacements were named in the 27-man squad.

De Allende was ruled out with a slight quadriceps strain, while Taute went for a scope (on his knee) yesterday and will be out of action for four to six weeks. The injury is not considered to be of a serious nature.

In a big return however Bok lock Eben Etzebeth will start in his first match of 2015, his first in a Stormers jersey since 2013, whilst talented youngster Huw Jones gets a run at inside centre in the place of De Allende – his first start for the Stormers.

However there’s no action yet for Bok flankers Nizaam Carr (virus) and Siya Kolisi (hamstring) as they are only considered for the next run-out against the Boland Cavaliers on February 7.

Demetri Catrakilis, after missing last weekend’s trip to George against the SWD Eagles with a stomach ailment, will start at flyhalf, whilst Absa Currie Cup-winning lock Jean Kleyn has been named on the bench after recovering from a knee (meniscus) injury which delayed his start to his team’s pre-season preparations.

The Stormers team to face the Cheetahs: Cheslin Kolbe, Kobus van Wyk, Juan de Jongh (vice-captain), Huw Jones, Dillyn Leyds,  Demetri Catrakilis, Nic Groom, Duane Vermeulen (capt), Michael Rhodes, Rynhardt Elstadt, Manuel Carizza, Eben Etzebeth, Vincent Koch, Scarra Ntubeni, Steven Kitshoff.

Bench: Bongi Mbonambi, Alistair Vermaak, Wilco Louw,  Jurie van Vuuren, Jean Kleyn, Neil Rautenbach, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Louis Schreuder, Kurt Coleman, Johnny Kotze, Robert du Preez, EW Viljoen.