Rudolph Jacobs
Rugby Journalist
1 minute read
28 Jan 2015
1:10 pm

Cheetahs make a whopping 13 changes

Rudolph Jacobs

The Cheetahs will field yet another captain when eighth man Willie Britz leads the side in their friendly against the Stormers at Newlands on Friday night.

File Picture: Sarel Pretorius of Cheetahs is tackled by Robbie Coetzee of Lions during the Absa Currie Cup match between Golden Lions and Toyota Free State Cheetahs at Ellis Park on October 11, 2014 in Johannesburg, South Africa. (Photo by Gallo Images)

Britz, the former Lion, takes over from lock Francois Uys, who captained the side last weekend in the 30-13 loss against the Bulls in Polokwane. Only Britz and flank Jean Cook have been retained from the line-up who started last week against the Bulls, with the majority of the squad getting a run in the first two warm-up matches.

Coach Naka Drotske said he will keep rotating his captains until flank Heinrich Brussow returns from Japan, who seems to be the favourite to lead the side on a more permanent basis.

Drotske made 13 changes to his side from last week, with flyhalf Joe Pietersen getting a rest after taking a knock last week while prop Max van Dyk is out for two weeks with a neck injury. Springboks like prop Coenie Oosthuizen, lock Lood de Jager and fullback Willie le Roux will play off the bench, while another Bok in flank Oupa Mohoje will start after missing last week’s Polokwane action.

With wing Sergeal Pietersen breaking his jaw last weekend to put him out of action for at least six weeks, Bok wing Cornal Hendricks makes a return in the No 14 jumper. Former Stormer Michael van der Spuy gets a chance in midfield next to JP du Plessis, after

Francois Venter and JW Jonker formed the centre combination against the Bulls.

Cheetahs: Clayton Blommetjies, Cornal Hendricks, JP du Plessis, Michael van der Spuy, Danie Dames, Willie du Plessis, Tian Meyer, Willie Britz (capt), Teboho Mohoje, Jean Cook, Carl Wegner, Armandt Koster, Ewald van der Westhuizen, Martin Bezuidenhout, Caylib Oosthuizen.

Bench: Stephan Coetzee, Danie Mienie, Coenie Oosthuizen, Francois Uys, Lodewyk de Jager, Tienie Burger, Shaun Venter, Francois Brummer, Francois Venter, Raymond Rhule,Willie le Roux.