Rudolph Jacobs
Rugby Journalist
2 minute read
3 Feb 2015
8:17 pm

Cheetahs name Super Rugby Squad

Rudolph Jacobs

While the big names of former Springbok flanker Heinrich Brussow and centre Johann Sadie have returned from Japan, Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske have named his squad of 35 players on Tuesday.

Cheetahs coach, Naka Drotske. Picture: Johan Pretorius/Gallo Images.

Brussow, eaermarked to be the Cheetahs skipper, however have named as one of the five additional injured players effectively making it a squad of 40 as per Sanzar regulations.

Sadie has been named on the bench in the final warm-up game on Wednesday against the Griffons at the Old Greys fields scheduled to start to 4pm.

Brussow however remained on the injured list therefore Drotske retained No 8 Willie Britz as skipper who also captained the side last weekend in the 39-31 loss to the Stormers at Newlands.

Drotske said the squad who will face the Griffons will be close to the one to open their campaign next weekend in Durban against the Sharks.

Despite fielding an ankle injury after the Stormers clash, Springbok fullback Willie le Roux has been named to start, while former Cheetahs captain and flank Boom Prinsloo returns after a long-term groin injury.

Also back is flyhalf Joe Pietersen who missed the Stormers clash due to a groin ailment.

Ten Griquas players have been included namely forwards Danie Minnie, Martin Bezuidenhout, Stephan Coetzee, Ewald van der Westhuizen and Carel Greeff and backs Tian Meyer, Francois Brummer, Danie Dames, Michael van der Spuy and JW Jonker.

Bezuidenhout, Meyer and Jonker are former Lions players, while Van der Spuy and Coetzee represented the Stormers in Super Rugby last season.

Lock Carl Wegner is the son of the late and former Free State hooker Callie Wegner, while lock Willem Serfontein is the older brother of Bulls and Bok centre Jan Serfontein.

Cheetahs Super Rugby squad: Caylib Oosthuizen, BG Uys, Danie Minnie, Torsten van Jaarsveld, Martin Bezuidenhout, Stephan Coetzee, Coenie Oosthuizen, Maks van Dyk, Ewald van der Westhuizen, Carl Wegner, Lodewyk de Jager, Francois Uys, Armand Koster, Boom Prinsloo, Carel Greeff, Jean Cook, Tienie Burger, Oupa Mohoje, Willie Britz, Sarel Pretorius, Shaun Venter, Tian Meyer, Joe Pietersen, Willie du Plessis, Francois Brummer, Raymond Rhule, Cornal Hendricks, Danie Dames, Francois Venter, Rayno Benjamin, Michael van der Spuy, Johan Sadie, JW Jonker, Willie le Roux, Clayton Blommetjies.

Injured: Willem Serfontein, Elgar Watts, Jonathan Adendorf, Sergeal Petersen, Heinrich Brussow