Rudolph Jacobs
Rugby Journalist
2 minute read
26 Feb 2015
12:30 pm

Lions team v Stormers

Rudolph Jacobs

Lions coach Johan Ackermann has made a wholesome eight changes to his starting line-up on Thursday for the Super Rugby clash against the Stormers at Ellis Park on Saturday.

FILE PICTURE: Johan Ackermann. (Photo by Duif du Toit/Gallo Images)

Left out altogether from the match-23 include flyhalf Marnitz Boshoff, hooker Malcolm Marx, wing Courtnall Skosan, prop Jacques van Rooyen, flank Ruaan Lerm and lock JP du Preez, with the latter two making their debuts from the bench last weekend in Durban during the 29-12 loss to the Sharks.

“I have to make it very clear that we didn’t panic by dropping players, it’s a rotation policy that we follow in accordance with our medical staff before we leave for our away leg on Sunday,” stressed Ackermann.

“We know we weren’t accurate enough last weekend against the Sharks but none of the changes have been made with the Stormers in mind, it’s all about fixing what went wrong last week,” he said.

An entire new frontrow in Schalk van der Merwe, Robbie Coetzee and Julian Redelinghuys will start, while flank Jaco Kriel returns from his minor groin injury at flank, replacing Derick Minnie who drops down to the bench.

In the backline, Faf de Klerk has been named at scrumhalf replacing Ross Cronje, while Elton Jantjies gets his first start at flyhalf, replacing Boshoff.

Sampie Mastriet, the former Bulls flyer, will play his first Super Rugby game for the Lions as he runs out at left wing at the expense of Skosan, while centre Harold Vorster, who came off the bench last weekend, will also celebrate his first Super Rugby start at centre.

Jaco van der Walt has been called up to cover the flyhalf position, he and Ruan Combrinck will also cover the fullback berth and he will celebrate his Super Rugby debut should he run on.

Robert Kruger has been added to the bench.

Kick-off is at 19h10 local time. Tickets are available from just R40 via

Lions: Andries Coetzee, Ruan Combrinck, Lionel Mapoe, Harold Vorster, Sampie Mastriet, Elton Jantjies, Faf de Klerk, Warren Whiteley (coffee), Warwick Tecklenburg, Jaco Kriel, Martin Muller, Franco Mostert, Julian Redelinghuys, Robbie Coetzee, Schalk van der Merwe.

Bench: Armand van der Merwe, Corne Fourie, Ruan Dreyer, Robert Kruge, Derick Minnie, Ross Cronje, Jaco van der Walt, Howard Mnisi