Sport / Phakaaathi / Local Soccer

Phakaaathi Reporter
1 minute read
7 Jan 2017
11:53 am

Motaung congratulates Sundowns

Phakaaathi Reporter

Kaizer Chiefs chairman Kaizer Motaung has congratulated Mamelodi Sundowns for their success in the 2016 Caf awards held in Abuja, Nigeria, on Thursday night.

Patrice Motsepe and Kaizer Motaung (Photo by Lefty Shivambu / Gallo Images)

Sundowns scooped the African Club of the Year award, while coach Pitso Mosimane was named Coach of the Year.

Goalkeeper Denis Onyango walked away as the African Player of the Year based in Africa, while Onyango, Khama Billiat and Keagan Dolly earned their places in Africa’s Finest Xl.

READ: PSL lauds Mosimane, Onyango and Sundowns

“On behalf of Kaizer Chiefs, I wish to congratulate Mamelodi Sundowns for their achievements at the CAF Awards,” Motaung told the Chiefs official website.

“Well done to club President Patrice Motsepe for his leadership and for making the country proud.

“I wish to also congratulate coach Mosimane and his players for their individual achievements. I am proud of their achievements as they auger well for the quality and the standard of the PSL.”

“Congratulations once more to the reigning African champions, Mamelodi Sundowns,” Motaung concluded.

Sundowns became the second team from South Africa to have been selected as the African Club of the Year.

Chiefs achieved this status in 2001 after winning the African Cup Winners’ (Mandela) Cup.