Phakaaathi Reporter
2 minute read
5 Mar 2017
12:47 pm

Senong rings changes for Sudan clash

Phakaaathi Reporter

Amajita coach Thabo Senong has made three changes to the starting line-up to face the Sudan in the final Group B clash of the 2017 Caf Under-20 Africa Cup of Nations.

SA Under-20 coach Thabo Senong

The game is set to take place at Heroes National Stadium in Lusaka, Zambia, on Sunday.

Goalkeeper Mondli Mpoto gets his third straight start in the tournament.

Senong has reshuffled his defence – captain Tercious Malepe will partner with Sandile Mthethwa at centre back.

Katlego Mohamme has been moved to the left back, while Thendo Mukumela retains his position at right back.

Vice-captain Teboho Mokoena will control proceedings in the heart of midfield alongside Grant Margeman.

The attacking trio of Luther Singh, Sibongakonke Mbatha and Phakamani Mahlambi will support lone striker Liam Jordan.

A win for South Africa will see them through to the semi-finals of the tournament, and also book their place in the Fifa U20 Men’s World Cup, which will be held later this year in South Korea.

“In our last game we played very well in the first half and managed to score two quick goals – we intend to continue from there, but today we expect our boys to stay focused in both halves. We have also warned them about conceding fouls in dangerous areas of the pitch, and to keep shape all the time,” said Senong.

“We have the opportunity to add our names in the history books this afternoon and we are just 90 minutes from realising that dream. We all know we could have wrapped it up in the previous match but it was not to be, and it is all in the past now. We strongly believe in the talent we have at our disposal and we are confident they will deliver – this is perhaps the most important match of our careers and we intend to make it count.”

Amajita starting XI:

South Africa Under-20 XI: Mondli Mpoto (GK); Katlego Mohamme; Thendo Mukumela; Tercious Malepe (C); Sandile Mthethwa; Grant Margeman; Teboho Mokoena; Sibongakonke Mbatha; Luther Singh; Phakamani Mahlambi; Liam Jordan

Subs: Sanele Tshabalala; Khulekani Khubeka; Siyabonga Ngezana; Notha Ngcobo; Aghmat Ceres; Sipho Mbule; Wiseman Meyiwa; Kobamelo Kodisang; Itumeleng Shopane; Khanyisa Mayo.