Phakaaathi Reporter
1 minute read
9 Oct 2017
4:18 pm

Masuluke’s goal still in race for Puskas Award

Phakaaathi Reporter

Oscarine Masuluke’s goal has made it into the final shortlist of the 2017 Fifa Puskas Award.

The Baroka FC goalkeeper will go against Deyna Castellanos and Olivier Giroud for the award.

Fifa on Monday confirmed the final three candidates for the award on their official website.

“Vote now to decide which of Deyna Castellanos, Olivier Giroud and Oscarine Masuluke will be crowned the successor to Mohd Faiz Subri as the winner of the 2017 Fifa Puskas Award. The remarkable trio of goals progressed from the first round of voting, which concluded on Monday 9 October. Every fan has a new vote in this second round, with the total of both votes added together to decide the winner. Voting will conclude on Monday 23 October, the day of The Best Fifa Football Awards™ ceremony in London,” read a Fifa statement.

READ: Masuluke’s goal against Pirates gets Puskas nomination

Masuluke was nominated for his bicycle kick equaliser against Orlando Pirates last season.

As reported earlier, former Chelsea coach Roberto Di Matteo and Nigerian legend Jay Jay Okocha have backed Masuluke to win the award.

READ: Okocha and Di Matteo back Masuluke for Puskas award