Local newsNews

Speaker awards four councillors aldermanship

Four councillors were honoured with adlermanship.

During the resumption of the November 2023 ordinary council meeting on Friday, the speaker of council in the City of Ekurhuleni, Nthabiseng Tshivhenga, bestowed the title and status of aldermanship on four councillors of the city.

This honorary title is bestowed in line with the city’s conferment of civic honours policy to councillors who, among other criteria, have served on one or more local government bodies within SA.

The title is conferred annually as and when councillors reach the required milestone, and they retain the title after leaving public office.

Aldermanship was conferred to Sivuyile Ngodwana, Sizakele Masuku, Jane Nhlapo-Koto and Dino Peterson.

Also read: City launches Clean Your Kasi campaign

Related Articles

Back to top button