Local newsSport

Karatekas appeal for donors

Ten karatekas of the Mas Se Dojo pleaded with Good Samaritans to help them with a R220,000 donation to aid them all in travelling to the International Junior’s Karate Dream Festival (IJKDF) in Japan from July 20 to 21.

The travelling group will comprise a team manager, Kamohelo Nedzanani (20), and nine karatekas.

According to the Shihan of the Mas Se Dojo, Masedisa Mojaki (42), the karatekas performed well in the Best of the Best Shinkyokushinkai tournament in KwaZulu-Natal on May 4 and the Sonada Tournament in Soweto on February 24 to qualify for the IJKDF competition.

“The karateka who manages the team has done well in the local karate tournaments and qualified for the IJKDF tournament, but, unfortunately, he is injured and can’t compete there, so I have turned him into a manager of the group.

“The group of karatekas that will represent SA in the IJKDF tournament will leave on July 17 and return on July 23,” said Mojaki.

She added that she understands the difficulty the karatekas are going through currently as qualifiers without the necessary money to realise their dream.

“Over the 28 years as a karateka, I faced the same challenge on several occasions when I was selected to represent SA.

“Karate is not a paying sport; most of us have stayed in the sport because of the passion and drive. It’s difficult to get sponsors for the sport, and we mostly do everything from our pockets,” Mojaki expressed.

She said sponsors could advertise their products for free if they came on board in the sport.

Nedzanani said they are eager to represent the dojo and SA in Japan.

“Our shihan has played a pivotal role so that we can get this opportunity to go to Japan. We want to make her proud and can only do that if we raise enough money to go there. We depend on Good Samaritans to assist us by donating the money we need,” explained Nedzanani.

The karatekas who qualified to go to Japan:

Kamohelo Nendzanani (20), Aphiwe Mthethwa (14), Samkelo Mahlangu (15), Aliyah Mditshwa (10), Thando Nkosi (15), Masego Moroe (11), Molahlehi Matlala (14), Ntladi Ratladi (10), Refilwe Mphuthi (14), Njabulo Selepe (11).

Related Articles

Back to top button