Local newsMunicipalNewsSponsored

Nominations for EMM ward committee members awaited

NIGEL - Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality (EMM) is putting measures in place for the election of ward committees in accordance with the municipality’s legislature.

EMM elected its new executive mayor Mzwandile Masina in August and shortly thereafter it was expected of him to ensure that residents receive proper municipal services. In order for the municipality to successfully render services to its residents, ward committees need to be formed as they are the link between the councillor and the community. This enables the community and the municipality to collaborate in developmental programmes.
According to DA councillor Wollaston Labuschagne, the process of forming ward committees targets communities and its relevant stakeholders, including sectors that need to be represented in the ward committees such as health, community safety, economic development, youth and women among others.
His priority now is to establish a well-represented ward committee in Nigel and he invites local organisations, churches, sports clubs, crime prevention organisations and other community establishments to nominate their representatives.

Interested parties are urged to register and nominate a candidate for the election of new ward committees before the closing date, which is October 28.

Nomination forms are available at the Nigel Customer Care Centre in Hendrik Verwoerd Street, Nigel and Alrapark Libraries and public participation offices. Nominations can be made for representatives from the following sectors: women and children; infrastructure services; aged and disability; economic development and city planning; faith based organisations; health and social development, youth; sport, heritage, recreation, arts and culture; environmental development and community safety.
To be nominated as a ward committee member and become a sector representative in a duly elected ward committee, it is required that candidates be a South African citizen; be a registered voter of that particular ward; be at least 18 years of age; have no criminal conviction; and not owe the municipality money for services, or be in arrears, but is willing to make the necessary arrangements to settle the account according to set council policy.
The election of ward committee members will take place between November 12 and 31 January 2017.

For more information phone Gugu or Dumisane or Naima or Sophie on 011 999 0118/5710/7321/8525 or Wollaston on 082 413 4318.

Related Articles

Back to top button