Local sportSport

Remembering those who passed on

The event recognises, acknowledges and supports all passed members, players and spectators of Zululand cricket

THE Cane Rats cricket team captained by Mark Addison managed to sneak a five wicket victory over the Drew XI side captained by Paul Gouge on Saturday in the 7th annual Bully Drew Memorial Cricket Day played at Addison Park.

This result handed the visiting outfit their second consecutive victory over the local lads, after their 40-run win recorded last year.

Drew XI bowler Perry Cobalt looks to swing one into the batsman as umpire Roger Laviopierre looks on
PHOTOS: Richard Springorum

The event recognises, acknowledges and supports all passed members, players and spectators of Zululand cricket.

Rules of the game are simple and are as follows – 25 overs are played and batsmen that reach 25 runs need to retire.

The games were umpired under the watchful eyes of Fuzzy van Aswegen and Roger Lavoipierre.

Cane Rats captain Mark Addison drives one back to the bowler during his innings of 27

Cane Rats padded up first and headed out to the middle to take care of business, resulting in a tally of 137/4 being recorded.

Peter Johnson, Mark Addison and Vusie Bruyns all retired after contributing 25, 27 and 28 respectively.

The experienced Errol Boulé was the pick of the Drew XI bowlers with figures of 1/23 in 3.

Drew XI captain Paul Gouge whips one in

The Drew XI side just fell a mere six runs off the required total, after ending their stand at 132/5 in 25 overs.

Patch Addison, Guy Richardson and Patrick Lendrum all retired on 25, with Jannie Potgieter (1/21 in 4) and Bruyns (1/11 in 4) throwing a spanner in the works.

Fun was had by one and all and old friendships were rekindled.

Pieter Johnson (Cane Rats) and Connor Lendrum (Drew XI) picked up the Men of the Matches awards for their outstanding efforts.

Cane Rats opening batsman Peter Johnson executes a solid defensive shot

The teams were as follows –

Drew XI – Paul Gouge (captain), Derrik du Pavillon, Patch Addison, Patrick Lendrum, Connor Lendrum, Mike Edge, Neville Getkate, Guy Richardson, Guy Kayhards, James McIlrath, Rusty Barnes, Errol Boulé and Perry Cobalt.

Cane Rats – Mark Addison (captain), Russel Addison, Bobby Hall, Braam Cronje, Lindsay Kirkwood, Peter Johnson, Jannie Potgieter, Vusie Bruyns, Peter Harvey, Dave Walker and Greg Williams.



Like our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter.

For news straight to your phone invite us:

WhatsApp – 072 069 4169

Instagram – zululand_observer

Back to top button