Local newsSport

Alberton Cricket Club 40’s Veterans team sponsored with new kit

Alberton Cricket Clubs will host the first four games on June 23, June 30, July 7, and July 14, at Lindeque Oval.

Alberton Cricket Club 40s Veterans team was sponsored with new cricket kit from Termovent SC, Wiltrade, A &B Movers, St Declan’s School for Boys, T&K Construction, and Monro Sheeting during a handover at Alberton Cricket and Hockey Club.

The kit consisted of two warm-up caps, warm-up pants, long pants, a T-shirt, a helmet and batting clads.

“We are excited and grateful to be part of this,” said Stefan Langeveldt from the Alberton Cricket Club.

Alberton Cricket Club is proud to have entered two over 40 veterans cricket teams for the upcoming Easterns Veterans Cricket League.

Alberton Cricket Club Veterans team received a new full playing kit.

The league will consist of 13 teams from the Easterns cricket club areas and will form part of the selection process for players to represent Easterns over 40.

Alberton Cricket Club fielded two teams in the competition: Royals and Legends. Nico Swanepoel will captain the Royals, with Clive de Villiers serving as vice-captain.

Alwyn Fourie will captain the Legends, with Danny Amaral serving as vice-captain.

The Royals Squad consists of Nico Swanepoel (C), Clive de Villiers (VC), Saurab Chatterjee, Gavin Ferreira, Rowan Dyer, Stefan Langeveldt, Jaco Smit, Marco Goncalves, Christo Breytenbach, Mohammed Iqbal, Brett Johnson, Deon Koekemoer, Eugenio Menenzes, Phillp Spies and Taariq Pieterse.

Sponsors are Derek Robertson, Clive de Villiers, Nico Swanepoel, Danny Amaral, Maria Costa and Marco Goncalves.

The Legends Squad has Alwyn Fourie (C), Amir Nasim, Andrew Bosman, Barend Spies, Bentley Daniel, Christopher de Jager, Danny Amaral (VC), Davian Finnis, David Monro, Deon van Wyk, Derek Robertson, Jason de Villiers, Michael van den Berg, Shane Germishuys, Tendani Thidiela, William Eatwell, Mark Furnell, Noel Sanders and Tyrone Lahoud.

The Easterns Vets League will begin on June 23 and conclude on September 29, with the final taking place at Willowmoore Park Cricket Stadium in Benoni.

Alberton Cricket Clubs will host the first four games on June 23, June 30, July 7, and July 14, at Lindeque Oval.

Players chosen to represent the Easterns over 40s will compete in the Inter-Provincial Tournament and be eligible for selection to Proteas and Proteas A over 40s.

The Proteas will compete in the Over 40s Cricket World Cup.

Related Articles

Back to top button