Bailey dominates Historics, Hattingh Pursuit in Delmas

Historic Racing South Africa delivered a cracking day of racing at Red Star near Delmas in Mpumalanga on Saturday, October 16

A quality field of Pre 90 GTs and Pre-80 Saloons delivered some great dicing well into the evening, while the Charlies Super Spar Pursuit series delivers much of what it does best – overtaking.
Peter Bailey gave notice of his intent with a flying qualifying lap for the GT and Saloon race aboard his purple Porsche 911 RS. Mazda duo Deon van Vuuren’s Hoosier R100 and Johann Smith’s JMS Capella RS appeared all set for a rotary wrought with Jannie van Rooyen’s Volkswagen Scirocco and Porsche 911 RSR duo, Liqui-Moly man George Avvakoumides and Andre van der Merwe in close pursuit.
Sean Hepburn.
Bailey duly set sail for a dominant race 1 win as he left Smith, van Rooyen and van Vuuren in a delightful dice for second and the Class C win, although van Vuuren slowed and ultimately stopped with a lap to race. That left Avvakoumides to fourth, as he fought Class C man van der Merwe and ten Napel off for the Class D win after Rene Janse van Rensburg also retired.
Riaan Roux beat Jaco Roux’s similar Addfin Scirocco to the Class E win after Daniel Lotter’s Ford Escort faded at mid distance. And Willem Vorster’s Ford Escort retiring ensured that Sean Hepburn overcame a break-out penalty to take Class F in his Automobile Association Datsun 1200 Deluxe. John Simpson’s Evoke Realty Alfa GT Junior meanwhile beat Steve Pickering’s Porsche 914 to Class G after Jan Jacobs’ Oliphantsfontein Alfa GT Junior retired.
Rob Clark.
Peter Bailey made off to another easy second race win from Johann Smith as dusk fell, but the dice for third was brilliant. Jannie van Rooyen, Andre van der Merwe, George Avvakoumides and Andre ten Napel fought into the sunset. Class E man Riaan and Jaco Roux had to deal with Sean Hepburn who went for it without any Class F competition, while John Simpson beat Steve Pickering in Class G. That in spite of both of them also breaking out.
So Peter Bailey took the overall win, while Johann Smith beat Jannie van Rooyen and Andre van der Merwe in Class C. George Avvakoumides took Class D from Andre ten Napel, Riaan took Class E from Jaco Roux, Sean Hepburn took Class F and John Simpson beat Steve Pickering in Class G.
Peter Bailey.
The other Red Star Historic Racing action was the back-to-front handicap Charlies Super Spar Pursuit series. That’s where each car starts at a time that theoretically sees all of them finish together. Perfect in theory, less plausible in reality with all that overtaking and all.
Andre Hattingh made best of the first race handicapping to bring his Modified class Mercedes Benz 190E home ahead of class rival Kola de Klerk’s Nissan 300ZX, Fines pair Bert van Aarle’s Mazda MX5 and Joshua de Klerk’s Honda Civic, and Trophy winner Tihan van Rooyen’s Porsche 924. Werner Hartzenberg’s Porsche 916 was next home from Rob Clark’s Citroen GS 1220 Club, Clive Winterstein’s 1957 Porsche 356 A, Riaan Roux’s VW Scirocco and Willem van Niekerk’s Marauder.
Johan Smit.
The problem with going too fast in Pursuit, is that you break out of your handicap time set from your qualifying lap and get excluded. That fate befell championship leader Wynand du Plessis Sr’s Porsche 944 and three others in race 1. There must have been something in that evening air in the second heat, as no less than six drivers broke out. But not double winner Hattingh, who beat Clark van Aarle, Hartzenberg and a more cautious Wynand du Plessis Sr. second time around.
So Andre Hattingh took overall and Modified honours for the day from Fines duo Bert van Aarle and Rob Clark, Modified man Werner Hartzenberg, Trophy winner Tihan van Rooyen and another Modified runner, Kola de Klerk.
Historic racing South Africa’s 2021 season culminates with another Red Star round on Saturday 27 November.
Source: MotorsportMedia / Photos: Paul Bedford 

Related Articles

Back to top button