Ziervogel property is now a heritage site.
On September 23, Tony Burisch of the Heidelberg Heritage Association awarded the latest blue plaque for heritage to 42 Begeman Street.
The plaque is no 60 in the series of plaques for Heritage Status.
As per the historical book, Die Geskiedenis van Heidelberg, stand no 64 initially belonged to Jeremias Frederik Ziervogel and then to Mr Bronkhorst.
It is possible that the same Bronkhorst’s, who had a farm in the area, also owned the property in Begeman Street.
According to reports, Jacobus Bronkhorst died in January 1900 in Ladysmith and his brother Fanie at the battle at Modderbult in December 1900.
Both brothers are buried in the Heidelberg Kloof Cemetery.
Records indicate that the first owner JF Ziervogel was a medical doctor in Heidelberg.
Dr Ziervogel and his wife Susanna Hartley Smith Cawood had seven children born in wedlock.
It is believed that the property was built in about 1890. The fireplaces in the house were manufactured by Victorian Falkirk Iron Co.
The workshop on the premises was built in about 1935 for Francis C Maude. Maude was the owner of Attjanbell Cabinet Works.
Christo and Melinda van der Merwe, owners of the Diamante en Goud shop in Heidelberg, started and renovated the shop in 1980.
They moved into the premises as a business in 1992. The Van der Merwe’s have been Heidelberg residents for 43 years.



















