Local newsMunicipalNews

Voters’ registration looms

Residents who want to vote in next year's election are urged to register at their closest registration station.

THE country’s national elections are just around the corner and local councillors, Dean Macpherson and Heinz de Boer, urge residents to register to vote.

“It is vitally important that those who have moved address, or those who are not registered to vote previously, do so on the registration weekend (9 and 10 November) at the closest voting station to their residential address.

“The stations will be open from 8am to 5pm on both days and residents need to take only their green bar coded ID books,” Macpherson said.

De Boer concurred; “As Dean has said, it is vitally important that people register, especially the youth. This election will be a landmark election in that many of the born-free children will have their first opportunity to vote and make their political voices heard.

“We need to build a society in which we don’t just complain about corruption, maladministration and bad governance. We need to take a stand against this by casting our vote and making it clear to the government that we, as citizens, deserve better,” de Boer said.

Ward 36 registration stations

  • Glenashley Junior Primary School – Adelaide Drive, Glenashley.
  • Northwood Boys High School – Kensington Drive, Durban North.
  • Chelsea Prepatory School – Chelsea Drive.
  • Riverside Sports Club – Raydar Drive, Durban North.
  • Rosehill Primary School – Buttery Road, uMngeni Park.
  • Northcrest Primary School – Bendow Road, Redhill.

Ward 35 registration stations

  • Please note: The Presbyterian Church at 1 Round the Green is no longer a voters’ registration station, as the church is using the venue for Sunday service. The new venue is Sunningdale Pre-Primary School.
  • NG Kerk – Herwood Drive.
  • Atholton Primary School – uMhlanga.
  • Trinity Methodist Church – La Lucia.
  • Victory Christian Academy – La Lucia.

Related Articles

Back to top button