Bradley Cox takes SA Cross Country Championship in Eston

Local trio, Michael Pentecost’s Kawasaki fended off Brett Swanepoel’s Husqvarna for the win as Bradley Cox wrapped up the overall title for KTM.

The 2021 South African Cross Country Motorcycle Championship came to a dramatic head at Virginia Trails, Eston on October 16. Local trio, Michael Pentecost’s Kawasaki fended off Brett Swanepoel’s Husqvarna for the win as Bradley Cox wrapped up the overall title for KTM. Pentecost became the first double winner of the season as he wrapped up the OR1 title. Cox is OR2 champion, Davin Cocker OR3, Wade Blaauw Senior, Greg Nairn Masters and Dylan Jones took High School. The highlight of the day was without doubt the monumental battle for the lead between OR1 open class duo, Michael Pentecost’s CiT Franchise Company Kawasaki and Brett Swanepoel’s Rockstar Energy Drink Husqvarna. The lead changed several times through the day, but Pentecost emerged the winner from Swanepoel in the end. But it was third man Bradley Cox who emerged king with third overall easily enough for him to take the title on his OR2 Brother Leader Tread KTM.

Mike Pentacost.

Davin Cocker was fourth overall as he took the OR3 win for Rockstar Husqvarna, albeit under pressure from KTM duo, OR2 runner up Gareth Cole and OR3 runner-up Haydn Cole. Cocker’s fourth place was also enough to nick the overall championship fourth from OR1 man, D’artagnan Lobjoit’s Pepson Plastics Motul Kawasaki. Pentecost and Swanepoel’s duel for overall and top class victory went right down to the wire. The fight for third in OR1 was also entertaining between Hayden Louw’s Sherco and Lobjoit’s Kawasaki, with Tyron Beverley’s Husqvarna and Luke McClelland’s KTM next home. Pentecost and Lobjoit ended first and third in the big class championship each side of Swanepoel in the green machines’ Cross Country return season. Bradley Cox made short work of OR2 as he stormed to third overall and the class win aboard his KTM and clinched both the overall and class championships. Cox won four of the five OR2 races and was second in the other, as Gareth Cole kept him reasonably busy on his KTM on KZN. Ian Rall’s MCA Dragon Husqvarna fended Kerim Fitzgerald’s Red Bull KTM off for third to seal the OR2 championship second from former motocrosser Fitzgerald.

Davin Cocker.

Davin Cocker competed his OR3 comeback fight with another win to take the title on his Rockstar Energy Drink Husqvarna. He had to fend Haydn Cole’s KTM off for second, as Cole vaulted from seventh to third in the class championship. Stefan van Deventer’s KTM ended third on the day from Scott Heygate, Cayden Purchase and Peter Karam’s KTMs, as Heygate secured second in the class championship. Wade Blaauw stormed to yet another Senior win on his Roost KTM. He remained unbeaten en route to the class title. Yamaha duo Dirk Olivier and Marco Cocci were second and third ahead of Pepson Motul Kawasaki wildcard Wyatt Avis, as Deon du Toit fought his Kawasaki home in 8th to clinch that title second. Greg Nairn won Masters to wrap up the championship for Husqvarna from his closest title rival Carel Mielies Le Roux’s Alfie Cox KTM and Martin Poole’s Husqvarna.

Brett Swanepoel.

John Botha took High School Virginia Trails honours by less than a minute on his Husqvarna with Branden Swanepoel less than a minute adrift on his Sherco. KTM trio, local wildcard, Ross Ramseyer, Rory Donaldson and Dylan Jones followed. Jones’ fifth place was enough to clinch the 2021 SA Cross Country High School title by all of two points from John Botha, with Swanepoel another three adrift in the end. Cobus Bester wrapped up his 85cc Junior championship with a third win on the trot aboard his Husqvarna, beating title runner up Thomas Scales KTM and Murray Clark Husqvarna to second and third on the day. Championship third lad Brandon Smith KTM ended fourth on his. And Justin Rom’s Husqvarna took the 65cc Junior win from KTM duo Brad Apsotolidles and Macenzie Bam. Source: MotosportMedia – Photos: Michaela Ramseyer

Related Articles

Back to top button