Young drivers excel in multiple racing formats

Although it may seem like it, success does not happen overnight. It is a process of consistent effort, and in motor racing the effort is demanding at best.

Zwartkops Raceway sizzled as youngsters staked their claim for fame in the Pabar VW Challenge, Car Care Clinic Superhatch and 111s, DOE Formula Vee and Monoposto, Toyota Gazoo Cup and Silvercup championships on Saturday, February 18

The Pabar VW Challenge had so many entrants that the grid was split into two separate races – Class A and C racing together, and Class B on its own. Wayne Masters won the Class A double, both times ahead of rivals Rory Atkinson and brother Bevin Masters.

Yotti Nousias beat Stelio Nousias, Bjorn Bertholdt, Philip Croeser, Michael Zapheriou and Charl Andersen to an equally entertaining opening Class C win. Young Bertholdt took a debut second race win in his first ever weekend of main circuit racing.


Among an impressive 20-car grid, Stiaan Kriel took both Class B race wins from Stuart Mack.

Karting graduate Sa’aad Variawa was another young driver to take a debut win on his maiden main circuit outing in the first Toyota Gazoo Yaris race. Thomas Falkiner was the first Media GR86 driver home.

Karel Stolts took his Toyota Etios to open Car Care Clinic Superhatch honours from Francis Aldrich’s Opel Corsa,  and Mark du Toit, Dhiren Ganassen and Seten Naidoo’s Honda Civics.

GT men Bob Neill’s Focus ST beat  JP van der Walt’s Audi S4, Lenard Archer’s Civic and Louis Cloete’s Beetle to the first Car Care Clinic 111 win.

In the Single seater action, Renzo Ribeiro led a Swift Formula GTi 1-2 over Paul Schultz in the well supported opening Monoposto race.

George Economides

Stiaan Kriel won both Silvercup races his Jetta. He beat Shaun Lamprecht’s BMW, Paul van Niekerk’s Golf, Johan van der Vyver’s Subaru, Class B+ winner Chris Cronje’s Toyota and B winner Freek Blignaut Jr in race 1. Kenny Darroch took Class C.

The next event will be at Red Star Raceway near Delmas on Saturday, April 22.

Source: MotorsportMedia / Photos: Colin Windell


Related Articles

Back to top button