Local sportSport

Medals for BWC at wrestling championships

Young wrestlers fly Boksburg flag.

The Boksburg Wrestling Club (BWC) made its presence count at the Ekurhuleni Wrestling Open Championships, hosted at the John Barrable Hall in Benoni on March 27.

The local club scooped a total of 17 medals at the annual event, which also featured female wrestlers. The medals from the club are divided into seven golds, six silvers and four bronzes.

Tanique Jansen van Rensburg, who starred in the girls u-10 category, also featured in the boys u-10 class, winning two golds.

She was joined in the gold-medal winners by Capser Jordaan, Rico van der Westhuizen (both boys u-13), Wiandru van Rooyen (boys u-15), Shannon Jansen van Rensburg (girls u-15) and Johan Swart (boys u-17).

Also Read: Boksburg Wrestling Club to feature in Ekurhuleni Championships

BWC chairperson and honorary president of the Ekurhuleni Wrestling Association Morne Clark commented: “Thank you to all the BWC wrestlers for participating and all the hard work they put in with their coaches to be able to achieve these results.

“The results on the mat show the commitment and dedication and we as BWC are very privileged, proud and blessed to have every wrestler at our club as part of our wrestling family.

“Courage is not living without fear. Courage is being scared to death and doing the right thing anyway.”

The event was part of a series of events leading up to the SA Championships, which are scheduled to take place in October.

BWC full results:

Boys u-9
Franco van der Meschet – bronze
Ruben Mostert – fourth place
Shaedon Kruger – fourth place

Girls u-10
Tanique Jansen van Rensburg – gold

Boys u-10
Tanique Jansen van Rensburg – gold
Keanu Bisschoff – bronze
Ruan Clark – bronze
Michael Botha – silver

Boys u-11
Kadin Botha – silver

Boys u-13
Casper Jordaan – gold
Rico van der Westhuizen – gold
Ada Smith – silver
Luan Clark – silver

Boys u-15
Wiandru van Rooyen – gold
Jape Botha – fourth place
Divan Stander – fourth place

Girls u-15
Shannon Jansen van Rensburg

Boys u-17
Johan Swart – gold
Michael Mhlanga – silver
Jesse van Baalen – silver
Japie Botha – bronze

Also Read: Wrestling club hits the ground running


Related Articles

Back to top button