Local bowling club announced as top performer

"These competitions and the start of the new league season brings with it exciting bowling talent."

Following a year of excellence, Edenvale Bowling Club was announced as one of the top-performing clubs when Ekurhuleni Bowls (EKB) hosted its AGM.

The AGM, which saw clubs from across the Ekurhuleni district attend, was held at Boksburg Bowling on October 1.

It highlighted the annual calendar, special achievements made by bowlers and clubs during 2023 and discussed plans for next year.

In light of Edenvale Bowling Club’s performance and growth during the 2023 league, the club was presented with the club of the year award.

ALSO READ: Local bowling club to host trips tournament on September 24

Another notable award was presented to Marina Brink, a lifetime member of Kempton Park Bowling Club.

Brink was made an honorary member of the Ekurhuleni bowls district. She achieved this for her contribution to bowls and her commitment to the sport for over 40 years.

With its AGM wrapped, EKB had several events lined up for the Ekurhuleni district calendar.

Alana Warrender Ekurhuleni Bowls’ president (EKB) presents Yvonne Ferreira of Edenvale Bowling Club with the club of the year award.

This includes the kick-off of the popular district open singles, pairs, trips and fours competition as well as the start of the new season league.

“These competitions and the start of the new league season bring with it exciting bowling talent affording the district more growth,” said Alana Warrender, president of EKB.

With 20 clubs in the district, one of the goals Warrender hopes to achieve in 2024 is to grow membership at the club level.

ALSO READ: Local bowling club honours Women’s Day in tournament

“The Ekurhuleni district is proudly represented by the symbolism of the Rose – Izimbali (in Zulu) seen in our emblem.

“Just like the rose, the bowlers in our district love the game and are passionate about the sport, which is also why the district features some high-level, top bowlers,” said Warrender.

By opening membership to younger players, it will provide greater longevity to the sport as it becomes more exciting.

To achieve this goal a new executive committee was established.

Its members include:

• Alana Warrender – president of Delville Bowling Club

• John McArdle – vice president of Alberton Bowling Club

• Bruce Milne – vice president of Redding Bowling Club

• Leigh Austin – competition secretary of Benoni Bowling Club

ALSO READ: Local bowling club invites new members

• Marianne Hunt – secretary of Kempton Park Bowling Club

• Petro Gibbons – treasurer of Kempton Park Bowling Club

• Gerald May – committee member of Edenvale Bowling Club

• Chantal Henn nee Grotto – committee member of Northmead Bowling Club

• Rachel Giesing – committee member of Benoni Town Club

• Desiré Hide – committee member of Brackenhurst Bowling Club

• Willem Viljoen – committee member of Modderbee Bowling Club

• Michael Hunt – committee member of Kempton Park Bowling Club

ALSO READ: Edenvale Bowling Club grows from strength to strength

At the start of the new year, bowlers and fans of the sport have the kick-off of the Gauteng challenge to look forward to.

It will feature districts such as Sables, BGN, Sedibeng and Johannesburg Bowls Association.

To join a club email and the details of a club closest to you will be sent.

Alternatively, visit for more information. Most clubs offer free coaching too and also have spare bowls to use should a player not have their own set.

Marina Brink of Kempton Park Park Bowling Club receives her award from Alana Warrender (EKB president|).
Back to top button