Cambridge beat Hoërskool Bergvlam to win Coca-Cola® T20 Final

Cambridge Academy won the Mpumalanga Coca-Cola® T20 Schools Challenge Provincial Finals and now stand the chance of representing the Titans at the Coca-Cola Schools T20 Challenge National Finals that will be played between the 15th and 17th March 2019 in Pretoria.

To represent the Titans, Cambridge Academy still have to play against the winners of the Northerns, Limpopo and Easterns provincial finals in a franchise final on the 2nd and 3rd of March at Willowmore Park.

This year’s provincial finals were played over two days with eight teams playing in quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals. The schools were Cambridge Academy, Lydenburg Hoerskool, Hoerskool Secunda, Hoërskool Bergvlam, Embalenhle Hub, Hoërskool Generaal Hertzog and Hoër Tegniese Skool Middelburg (HTS Middleburg).

Cambridge Academy beat Hoërskool Generaal Hertzog by 8 wickets in the quarter-final, Hoërskool Lydenburg by 9 wickets in the semi-final, and Hoërskool Bergvlam by 16 runs in the final.

Also read: Fierce setting sun halts New Zealand-India cricket match

Zuan Swarts was the top run scorer for Cambridge Academy in the provincial finals scoring 85 runs and only going out once in the whole tournament. He also contributed with the ball taking 5 wickets in the tournament including 3 wickets for 5 runs against Hoërskool Generaal Hertzog.

Nathan du Toit took 7 wickets with his best figures being 4 wickets for 6 runs against Hoërskool Lydenburg and Dumi Dumisani contributed with 3 wickets for hardly any runs including 2 wickets for 9 runs in 4 overs against Hoërskool Generaal Hertzog.

The winner of the Franchise Finals will join the other five franchises winners and the two schools that qualified though the CSA Focus School programme at the competition’s National Finals at the University of Pretoria from the 15th to 17th March 2019. The Coca-Cola T20 School Challenge winner stands to walk away with R110 000.00 for their school.


Hertzog 55 all out (Zuan Swarts 3/5, Dumi Dumisani 2/9) vs Cambridge Academy 56/2 (Zuan Swarts 28*)
Cambridge won by 8 wickets

Hoërskool Lydenburg 119/8 (Reece Heydenrych 22, Weandre Williamse 22, Sibusiso Nkosi 3/12) v Embalenhle Hub 52 all out (Brandon Bothma 3/13)
Lydenburg won by 67 runs

Hoërskool Secunda 94/6 (Johan van Antwerpen 33, Sufian Patel 3/13) vs Hoërskool Bergvlam 98/9 (Regardt du Preez 32, Lerato Mokoena 2/3)
Bergvalm won by 1 wicket

Ligbron Akademie vs HTS Middleburg
Ligbron won

Hoërskool Lydenburg 110/7 (Nathan du Toit 4/6) vs Cambridge Academy 111/1 (Zuan Swarts 40*)
Cambridge Academy won by 9 wickets

Ligbron Akademie 91 all out (Gomo Moletsi 3/8, Tabang Mawela 2/8) vs Hoërskool Bergvlam
Bergvlam won

Cambridge Academy 112/7 (Stef Leemanss 29, Adnan Laria 2/17) vs Hoërskool Bergvlam 96/3 (Uwaiz Patel 42*)

Cambridge won by 16 runs.





Also read:

Parents frustrated by a lack of space in Middelburg schools

Traffic officers to appear in court for corruption

#TrafficAlert: Two dead in Kranspoort accidents

VIDEO: Two perish after truck jack-knifes

Want breaking news on the go?

• Save our standby number (072 248 3855) and send us a WhatsApp message with the words “Add me” to be added to our broadcast list.

• Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

• Subscribe to our YouTube channel.

• Click on the link to subscribe to our bi-weekly newsletter via email.

Have a news tip?

Contact our news room on our 24 hr standby number 072 248 3855, or send a mail to our editor

Back to top button