Local news

New faces take the lead in Mpumalanga Provincial Legislature

Several new members will be welcomed as part of the seventh democratically elected administration.

The seventh democratically elected administration will see a number of familiar and senior faces disappear from the Mpumalanga Provincial Legislature’s benches, making way for new players.

With the national and provincial elections done and dusted, it is now time for the political parties to form a government, and even though the Mpumalanga ANC received the majority of votes, all the other political parties are obliged to be part of the Provincial Legislature to formulate the government.

The seventh Provincial Legislature will comprise 51 members, moving away from the 30 seats that have constituted the Legislature since 1994. The ANC received 51% and will be represented by 27 members in the Provincial Legislature, followed by the MK Party with nine members after attaining 16% of the provincial votes. The EFF received 13% of the votes and has been allocated seven seats, followed by the DA with 12% of the votes and six seats. Both the FF Plus and ActionSA are allocated one seat each.

The ANC will, however, bid farewell to some of its familiar and senior members, such as Pat Ngomane, Norah Mahlangu, Gillion Mashego and Thandi Shongwe. They are making way for new cadres such as the Youth League graduates, Desmond Moela, Sonto Malapeng, Sam Masango and Thulasizwe Thomo.

Other new members joining the ANC caucus include some of the party’s experienced leaders such as the current executive mayor of the Ehlanzeni District, Cllr Jesta Sidell, the former City of Mbombela’s executive mayor, Cathy Dlamini, the former Nkomazi executive mayor, Thulisile Khoza, Brenda Moeketsi and Lindi Masina. They will join the seasoned Mandla Msibi, Mandla Ndlovu, Vusi Shongwe, Speed Mashilo, Sasekani Manzini, Jackie Macie and Makhosazane Masilela.

ALSO READ: Stakeholders and community to meet in Steenbok to discuss cross-border crime

Also forming part of the ANC are members drawn from its alliance partners, namely Bonakele Majuba and Lucky Mbuyane, both representing the SACP, and Cosatu’s Fidel Mlombo.

The EFF will be represented by its provincial leaders and familiar faces such as Collen Sedibe, Jackson Malatjie and Ntsako Mkhabela. They will be joined by the veteran Michael Ngrayi Ngwenya, Rhulani Qhibi, Nomaswazi Nkambule and Nkateko Ndlovu.

The DA will go without its provincial leader, Jane Sithole. It is instead bringing back its former provincial leader, James Mahlangu, who has served both in the Provincial Legislature and the National Parliament.

ALSO READ: Some Mpumalanga senior traditional leaders receive vehicles

Trudie Grové-Morgan and Bosman Grobler are set to return and will be joined by newcomers, Maria Magdalena Weber, Teboho Sekaledi and Tersia Marshall.

The FF Plus will field its senior and experienced leader, Werner Weber, while ActionSA will be represented by its provincial leader, Thoko Mashiane. Newcomers, the MK Party, will be represented by Mary Phadi, Benjamin Nxumayo, Jabulani Mdhluli, Puleng Fenyane, Joshua Lukhele, Eliot Shongwe, Moses Ndimande, Tshepo Sikhosana and Nomaqhawe Bungane-Mtshweni.

Related Articles

Back to top button