News

Klipkerk celebrates 130 years of faith and community

Constructed in 1912, the current church building is evidence of the congregation's dedication to their community and faith.

Klipkerk NG Kerk Moedergemeente, an architectural masterpiece and national monument, celebrated its 130th birthday on June 9, commemorating the congregation’s rich history and enduring legacy.

The Klipkerk, which was founded in 1894, has served as the mother church for many Ekurhuleni congregations.

Constructed in 1912, the current church building is evidence of the congregation’s dedication to their community and faith.

Alta Prinslooo and Martin Botha.

Reverend Hannes Windell, one of the pastors of the church, said the Klipkerk has been a beacon of hope and a symbol of unity for our community for over a century.

“As we celebrate this milestone, we reflect on the countless lives that have been touched by the love and grace of God within these walls,” he said.

The birthday celebration was a joyous occasion, filled with love, warmth, laughter and a sense of community.

The church’s choir added to the festive atmosphere as members and guests gathered to mark this special event.

History
The Boksburg Advertiser previously reported that the church played a significant role in the lives of the congregation members.

The congregation took its first steps amid many upheavals and conjectures before the white break of the Second War of Independence.

The Klipkerk, which is part of the centenary celebrations, has a rich history.

It is precisely in this church where the Boksburg congregations, in particularly difficult times, were able to fulfil their calling.

The Stone Church (which became a city church) and its congregations were a beacon of hope for people who in some cases had lost a lot.

The run-up to building the church was preceded by several problems.

There were growing congregation members, tension with the Anglican church, and the disruption of the Anglo-Boer war on the congregation’s life.

The children’s church choir.

Despite these challenges, the congregation persevered.

According to Rev. Hendrik Bornman, who was a pastor of the Boksburg congregation, Boksburg had a fairly cosmopolitan population in those years.

In addition to Afrikaans speakers, there were English, Scotts, and Welsh, and Anglican, Presbyterian, and Baptist congregations arose.

On November 20, 1893, the farming community applied for the establishment of its municipality, and on 15 June 1894, the parishes of Johannesburg detached.

The growing number of parishioners – there were then a total of 1 321 baptised and professing members – forced Reverend James Louw, the first pastor of this church, to insist on the building of another church hall.

R Erasmus from Pretoria then offered R1 000 for the building of a hall, and after the sale of two stand-farms in Markstraat, the Church Council had enough money to erect the Erasmus Hall in 1904 for the congregations.

The development of the East Rand mines meant that Afrikaans speakers flocked to the gold fields so that by 1910, the congregations stood at more than 2 000 members.

The building of a bigger church was once again a big challenge for the congregation members concerned.
Tenders for the building of the church were requested in September 1911.

The architect was W H Louw van de Paarl, and the building contractors were Messrs. Gordon and Kuisman van Germiston.

The stones for the church were transported by oxcart from the station to the site by Harry Terblanch. On January 27, 1912, Mrs Louw observed the laying of the cornerstone.

The new church building, which then became known as the Stone Church, was officially inaugurated on October 26, 1912.

Also Read: Kom geniet Geloftediens te Klipkerk

Also Read: Ondersteun Geloftediens te Klipkerk

   

Related Articles

Check Also
Close
Back to top button