Local news

Mayor introduces MMCs for City of Ekurhuleni

The MMC for Energy is Mzayifani Ngwenya and the MMC for Human Settlements is Kgopelo Hollo.

The City of Ekurhuleni (CoE) appointed a new executive mayor on April 11 following a motion of no confidence against former mayor Sivuyile Ngodwana.

The newly appointed mayor, Dr Nkosindiphile Xhakaza, was sworn into office in a ceremony held in Germiston.

The officer of the mayor also recently announced the new Members of the Mayoral Committee.

ALSO READ: Meet the new Executive Mayor of the City of Ekurhuleni

MMC for Water and Sanitation is Thembi Msane while the position of MMC for Environmental Resources and Waste Management is taken up by Leshaka Manamela.

Bridget Thusi was announced as the MMC for Community Services while Nkululeko Dunga retained his position as MMC for Finance.

Sizakele Masuku, Nomadlozi Nkosi and Andile Mngwevu were announced in the MMC positions of community safety, developmental planning and real estate and roads and transport planning respectively.

The MMC for Energy is Mzayifani Ngwenya and the MMC for Human Settlements is Kgopelo Hollo.

Ngodwana has taken up the position of MMC for Corporate and Shared Services.

ALSO READ: ANC takes Ekurhuleni mayoral office

The key elements of the appointed mayoral committee include ensuring the provision of sustainable services to all residents, rebuilding a strong financial base to support the city’s development and conducting essential repairs and maintenance of public facilities.

The committee will also be promoting infrastructure investment, encouraging private sector participation and driving economic development, growth, job creation and preserving good governance and combating corruption, fraud, and maladministration.

Related Articles

Back to top button