Morgan Moss Karate members among SA’s very best

A total of 16 members from Morgan Moss Karate International in Silverfields have been selected for the National Team to compete in the Region 5 International Championships in Zimbabwe.

Sensei Morgan Moss, head instructor of Morgan Moss Karate International, is very proud to have produced many talented athletes who continue to punch above their weight and dominate the sport.

He announced recently that a total of 16 members of the club will travel to Harare, Zimbabwe to represent the South African National Karate Team at the Region 5 International Championships from June 8 to 12.

All the athletes who will be travelling to Zimbabwe from left (back) Gavin, Pansegrouw, William Ash, Danielle van Wyk, Marissa Schoombie, Sara Cechova, Sydney Owen, Dewald Engelbrecht, Tyrone Gray, Tivaar Kasipersadh. (Front from left) Ethan Venter, Connor Vergie, Brogan Taylor, Sensei Morgan Moss, Chloe Preston, Brendan Engelbrecht, Xander Engelbrecht.

The athletes who have been selected will have the opportunity to show off their skills against the best competitors in the Southern African region.

Sensei Morgan has also been selected to lead the Junior National Coaching Division and looks to bring his years of international experience to the team along with expert knowledge.

Jonathan Duncan and Tyrone Gray among the travelling athletes doing training drills at Morgan Moss Karate

“Zimbabwe forms an integral part of our athlete’s development as after this event, the team will then travel to the World Youth League in Croatia and the African Championships in Casablanca, Morocco,” said Sensei Morgan.

Conor Vergie and William Assh training hard as they prepare for the Championships

The club has a rich tradition of producing top-quality national athletes and boasts more athletes on the national team than any other club in the West Rand region. All of the members are also registered with the West Rand Karate Federation, Gauteng Karate, and Karate South Africa – the official sporting body recognised by the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC).

Back to top button